Sanctified Soul Various Artists (Atlantic)


Southern Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Sanctified Soul, CD (£11.70)

Utilising the sledgehammer principle, we've started this CD with the Soul Clan, the only serious attempt to form a soul super-group in the 1960s. The group members were Messrs Conley, Burke, Covay, Tex and King who perform well on a good southern soul style ballad, That's How It Feels, without shaking the world, but neatly serving as an appropriate antipasto for the delicacies to come.

As individuals, Conley, Burke and Covay get the chance to serve up their own creations later on in the CD and in fact it's the latter, Don Covay, who provides the 1968-recorded I Stole Some Love. It's a great storytelling slowie, complete with rap and a Here Comes The Judge style interjection.

The overall feel of this CD is 'slow and moody' done the way Atlantic specialised in their Southern-influenced 1960s heyday. Particular highlights of this genre are the Soul Brothers Six with Can't Live Without You, James Carr's later 1971 offering I'll Put It You, Ted Taylor's Feed The Flames, a fine Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham song and Judy Clay's tortured Greatest Love. Hardcore Southern soul fans will be excited by the appearances of Herman Hitson and Ben and Spence and Rudy Mockabee's interpretation of Roy Lee Johnson's Cheer Up (Daddy's Coming Home).

Being Kent and renowned for our catholic tastes we've also featured some appropriate social commentary from Sam Dees and JP Robinson who tackle the drugs problem and the political repression so relevant to their own black constituencies.

Stylistically we've also represented Atlantic's home town, NYC, with cultured offerings from ex-Drifter Rudy Lewis and Lee Jackson's Ad For Love with its strong doo wop influences.

We end on the beautiful and relevant Time To Say Goodbye from Bettye Swann, a Southern girl whose career started in LA, moved to the mid-south with great critical acclaim and cut this and some of her finest recordings in Philadelphia. It's from 1974, a point where over-production was selling soul music short-.-but the best, like this, was combining the experience and pedigree of a great singer with the newly acquired recording techniques, in an appropriate, learned and respectful manner.

Finally Dave Godin has added some incisive and enlightening sleevenotes to complement the terrific sound reproduction achieved by our own Sound Mastering post production studios, who got to work on some fabulous Atlantic tapes.

PS Belated thanks to Randy Cozens for vital suggestions and all-round inspiration in the production of this CD.
PPS There is a second volume of this sort of Atlantic material lined up for 2001 featuring artists as mysterious and esoteric as Elvis and the Roadrunners.

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview That's How It Feels - The Soul Clan

  • 02 Preview I Stole Some Love - Don Covay and The Goodtimers

  • 03 Preview Can't Live Without You - Soul Brothers Six

  • 04 Preview I'll Put It To You - James Carr

  • 05 Preview Is It Over? - Otis Clay

  • 06 Preview You Don't Have To See Me - Arthur Conley

  • 07 Preview Your Love's Not Reliable - Fern Kinney

  • 08 Preview Cover Me - Jackie Moore

  • 09 Preview Signed, Miss Heroin - Sam Dees

  • 10 Preview George Jackson - J P Robinson

  • 11 Preview They Don't Know - Percy Wiggins

  • 12 Preview You Mean So Much To Me - The Mad Lads

  • 13 Preview He'll Have To Go - Solomon Burke

  • 14 Preview Feed The Flame - Ted Taylor

  • 15 Preview The Greatest Love - Judy Clay

  • 16 Preview A Suffering Pain - Jeff Dale

  • 17 Preview Love Have Mercy - Mike Williams & The Tempest Band

  • 18 Preview Ad For Love - Lee Jackson

  • 19 Preview I've Loved You So Long - Rudy Lewis

  • 20 Preview Get It Over - Ben & Spence

  • 21 Preview Too Much For A Human Heart - Herman Hitson

  • 22 Preview For Better Or Worse - Wilson Pickett

  • 23 Preview Leave You In The Arms (Of Your Other Man) - Roscoe Robinson

  • 24 Preview Message To My Woman - Walter Rhodes

  • 25 Preview Cheer Up (Daddy's Coming Home) - Rudy Mockabee

  • 26 Preview Time To Say Goodbye - Bettye Swann

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A late night extravaganza.


A sparkling and richly soulful set.

Record Collector

This is a fine set of real soul which, I hope, will be the precursor of several volumes.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought