South Texas Rhythm'n'Soul Revue Various Artists (Huey Meaux)


Southern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Huey Meaux recorded more soul music in the 60s and 70s than any other producer in Texas, leasing some of it to nationally distributed labels such as Jamie and Scepter and issuing even more of it on the dozens of labels he ran in conjunction with various business partners. He wasn’t the only producer in South Texas but the number of singles that bear the legend Produced by Huey P Meaux could fool anyone into thinking he was.

Many of soul’s greatest names got their break with the Crazy Cajun. Some worked with him for only a short time, others such as Barbara Lynn stayed with him for virtually all of their active careers. If Don Robey’s Duke and Peacock labels shaped the template for 50s R&B in Houston, then hundreds of 45s that Huey put out between 1960 and 1980 provided the same service for those decades.

For the last couple of years, my colleague Alec Palao and I have been working our way through the beautifully-filed tape vault in Houston’s Sugar Hill studios, transferring the many masters that comprise Huey’s recorded legacy. It’s been a rewarding experience and a learning curve for both of us. This volume of “South Texas Rhythm ‘n’ Soul Revue” is a welcome by-product of our trips.

Some names here will be familiar to serious soul fans: Johnny Copeland, Johnny Adams, Jean Knight, Jackie Paine and Joe Medwick, for example. Others will surely become much better-known as a result of this compilation. To represent all facets of 60s Texas soul we’ve also included great sides by swamp pop greats such as Warren Storm, whose take on ‘Tennessee Waltz’ is a highlight of the set, and Chicano octet Sunny and the Sunliners who do Earl King’s ‘Trick Bag’ a similarly splendid service. We’ve even got young Johnny and Edgar Winter tearing through ‘Out Of Sight’ in a manner that would make James Brown himself proud.

The highlights for many will be the recently unearthed original demos of soul classics ‘Neighbor Neighbor’ and ‘You’ll Lose A Good Thing’ by their authors, Alton Valier and Barbara Lynn respectively, which offer a priceless opportunity to hear how these songs sounded before they became hits. All in all, a window on what the music scene in and around Houston was like almost 50 years ago. 


By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Go Go Train - Jackie Paine

  • 02 Preview Doggin' Around - Jean Knight

  • 03 Preview Get To Gitten' - Big Walter

  • 04 Preview Tennessee Waltz - Warren Storm

  • 05 Preview Trick Bag - Sunny & The Sunliners

  • 06 Preview Pick Me Up On Your Way Down - Margo White

  • 07 Preview Long Gone - James Young

  • 08 Preview Out Of Sight - The Insight

  • 09 Preview Time - Charles Berry

  • 10 Preview If You're Looking For A Fool - David "King" Thomas

  • 11 Preview Let Them Talk - Johnny Adams

  • 12 Preview That Is Why The End Must Begin - Joe Masters

  • 13 Preview Irene - Rockin' Dave Allen

  • 14 Preview Slow Walk You Down - Johnny Copeland

  • 15 Preview Fat Man - TV & The Tribesmen

  • 16 Preview If Only You Were Here - Margo White

  • 17 Preview Five Long Years - Tee Bee Fisher

  • 18 Preview A Place Called Home - Johnny Adams

  • 19 Preview I Found A Love - Maxine Davis

  • 20 Preview Sufferin' City (Version 2, solo) - Johnny Copeland

  • 21 Preview Friends In Show Business - Joe Melvin

  • 22 Preview Go Go Train (WMCA Version) - Jackie Paine

  • 23 Preview Neighbor Neighbor (Demo) - Alton Valier

  • 24 Preview You'll Lose A Good Thing (Demo) - Barbara Lynn

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought