Rolling With The Punches: The Allen Toussaint Songbook Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1354

It should surprise no-one that Allen Toussaint has been added to Ace’s songwriter series. In a career that’s in its seventh decade, this quietly spoken, modest son of New Orleans has written some of the greatest hits ever to grace the Great American Songbook. And on his own, too – there can be very few black American composers who have written so many successful songs without the aid of a collaborator. Between 1960 and 1980, barely a week went by without his compositions appearing on the R&B or Hot 100 charts. Some were subsequently revived, in multiple versions, and often with renewed success. Most of them are the kind of popular music standards of which any songwriter would be proud.

“Rolling With The Punches” is a compilation that celebrates Allen’s glittering career in a rounded and highly appropriate manner. Other anthologies of his work as a songwriter have tended to be built around the numbers he wrote during the first 10 years of his career – and we couldn’t omit titles such as ‘Ride Your Pony’, ‘Fortune Teller’ and ‘Working In The Coal Mine’ here. However, rather than massively duplicate what those other collections have to offer, this one focuses primarily on the later songs Allen penned in a period when he was looking beyond the constraints of the 3-minute single and moving his writing in new directions.

Many of the tracks featured here are sung by some of Allen’s biggest musical admirers. Robert Palmer, Boz Scaggs, Bonnie Raitt and Little Feat’s Lowell George all recorded multiple of his songs, so we were often spoiled for choice as to whose versions of which songs to include. We also couldn’t omit Irma Thomas, Aaron Neville, Lee Dorsey or Ernie K-Doe, all of whom have career-long associations with Allen. No tribute to him could be complete without at least one contribution from each.

Neither could we leave out the man himself. The compilation features pristine examples of Allen’s work as a vocalist (‘Soul Sister’) and instrumentalist (the Rhine Oaks’ ‘Tampin’’). More than anything, these show that Allen Toussaint should have been as big a star as those whose careers he helped as a writer, arranger and/or producer, had he not been content to remain behind the scenes.

It’s always nice to get the approval of someone whose work we seek to anthologise. When we sent the proposed track listing for this compilation to Allen, his reply read as follows: “Absolutely wonderful choices. I’m looking forward to hearing this myself! Thank you very much.” Of course, it’s we who should be thanking him.


By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Here Come The Girls - Ernie K-Doe

  • 02 Preview Hercules - Boz Scaggs

  • 03 Preview What Is Success - Bonnie Raitt

  • 04 Preview Occapella - Lee Dorsey

  • 05 Preview Let's Live - Aaron Neville

  • 06 Preview Everything I Do Gonh Be Funky (From Now On) - Don Covay

  • 07 Preview Ride Your Pony - The Meters

  • 08 Preview Soul Sister - Allen Toussaint

  • 09 Preview Working In The Coal Mine - The Judds

  • 10 Preview Get Out Of My Life Woman - Solomon Burke

  • 11 Preview Sweet Touch Of Love - Irma Thomas

  • 12 Preview Shoo-Rah - Frankie Miller

  • 13 Preview Yes We Can Can - The Pointer Sisters

  • 14 Preview Fortune Teller - Benny Spellman

  • 15 Preview Freedom For The Stallion - Bill Medley

  • 16 Preview Sneakin' Sally Thru' The Alley - Robert Palmer

  • 17 Preview Whoever's Thrilling You (Is Killing Me) - Z.Z. Hill

  • 18 Preview Brickyard Blues (Play Somethin' Sweet) - Maria Muldaur

  • 19 Preview What Do You Want The Girl To Do - Lowell George

  • 20 Preview I'll Be Rolling (With The Punches) - Millie Jackson

  • 21 Preview Tampin' - The Rhine Oaks

  • 22 Preview A Certain Girl - Warren Zevon

  • 23 Preview Holy Cow - Lee Dorsey

  • 24 Preview Southern Nights - Glen Campbell

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought