Rockets Of Love! Power Pop Gems From The 70s, 80s & 90s Various Artists (Power Pop Gems)


Power Pop
Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

Another collection of top-notch songs delivered with all the jangling guitars, catchy hooks, banging beats and snappy tunes that make power pop such a blast.

Making pronouncements about power pop is a risky business, as disputes abound on websites dedicated to the form, not only about what is and isn’t power pop but about when it began and ended. One site insists that posts should relate only to recordings made between 1976 and 1981, while the belief in most others is that power pop started in the late 60s with Beatles-influenced bands such as Badfinger and continues to flourish right up to this day. We lean more to the latter view.

On this follow-up to our “Come On Let’s Go! Power Pop Gems From The 70s & 80s” compilation, we have extended the timeframe to cover the 90s and even include one outlier from the 2000s. There was just too much great power pop being made beyond the 70s and 80s for us to ignore. Another change to this volume is that we look beyond American shores and include selections from the UK and Australia. As before, we take a broad view of power pop and you will find elements of punk, new wave, garage and various other sub-genres within. However, we can guarantee that all our selections are top-notch songs delivered with all the jangling guitars, catchy hooks, banging beats and snappy tunes that make power pop such a blast.

Among the many highlights are ‘Had To Make You Mine’ by Cheap Trick and ‘Better Things’ by the Kinks. An oft-overlooked gem from their “Busted” album, ‘Had To Make You Mine’ screams “the Beatles!” and shows Cheap Trick revisiting their 60s roots. ‘Better Things’ returned the Kinks to the UK singles charts in 1981 after a nine-year absence. Its uplifting message should have made it a trans-Atlantic #1 with Dave Davies’ clever guitar lines and brother Ray’s inspired lyric combining to create a feeling of rejuvenated optimism as they look forward to overcoming old difficulties with a fresh new start – the perfect antidote for recent times:

Here’s hoping all the days ahead won’t be as bitter as the ones behind you

Be an optimist instead and somehow happiness will find you

Forget what happened yesterday

I know that better things are on the way



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Rocket O' Love - The Knack

  • 02 Preview It's You Tonight - The Flashcubes

  • 03 Preview Whatever Happened To Fun... - Candy

  • 04 Preview I Could Be The One - Fire Town

  • 05 Preview I Need You (That Thing You Do) - The Wonders

  • 06 Preview The Popular Girl - Martin Newell

  • 07 Preview Vacation - Richard X Heyman

  • 08 Preview Storybook - The Blow Pops

  • 09 Preview I Wanna Be A Teen Again - Tom Foolery

  • 10 Preview Sooner Or Later - The Innocents

  • 11 Preview Winter In The Hamptons - Josh Rouse

  • 12 Preview Had To Make You Mine - Cheap Trick

  • 13 Preview Sky High - The Vandalias

  • 14 Preview Hey Baby - Disguise

  • 15 Preview 867-5309 / Jenny - Tommy Tutone

  • 16 Preview Hearts In Her Eyes - The Records

  • 17 Preview Modern Man - 4 Out Of 5 Doctors

  • 18 Preview Mary Anne - Marshall Crenshaw

  • 19 Preview Another Night - The Searchers

  • 20 Preview That's What She Said - The Greenberry Woods

  • 21 Preview What's He Got? - The Producers

  • 22 Preview Foolish - DM3

  • 23 Preview Never To Come Again - Brad Jones

  • 24 Preview Better Things - The Kinks

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought