Come On Let's Go! Power Pop Gems From The 70s & 80s Various Artists (Power Pop Gems)


Power Pop
Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

Nothing shakes some action like a snappy guitar-based pop song delivered with a powerful beat, boundless energy and joyous enthusiasm.

“Power pop is what we play,” declared Pete Townshend in a 1967 interview to promote the Who’s ‘Pictures Of Lily’. Although the term power pop did not gain much traction at the time, it re-emerged at the beginning of the 70s after the Beatles had dissolved and music began to fracture into various camps.

In the USA, bands that remained true to the Beatles tradition began to be referred to as power pop. The Raspberries set the ball rolling in 1972, and young bands began to spring up who really only wanted to sing about girls and having a good time on Saturday night. As the 70s wore on, the new wave had an ever-growing influence on the movement, and even the Ramones donned skinny ties long enough to back up harmony pop masters the Paley Brothers on a thrilling update of Ritchie Valens’ ‘Come On Let’s Go’.

The power pop movement never really caught on in the UK, principally because the highly influential mainstream music press were first centred on progressive rock, and then completely consumed by the arrival of punk. Even the mighty Raspberries failed to crack the UK Top 50, while Cheap Trick scored one lowly entry and only the Knack managed to hit the Top 10. US fans were fortunate in having publications such as Creem, Trouser Press and Who Put The Bomp staffed by maverick writers with diverse voices. Greg and Suzy Shaw were especially supportive of groups such as the Flamin’ Groovies, Rubinoos and Dwight Twilley Band, not only with their magazine but, once their Bomp! record label was formed, by putting out singles by the Romantics, Shoes, 20/20, Gary Charlson and others.

Pure pop bliss is provided by the Toms on their richly melodic ‘Better Than Anyone Else’, while the Dwight Twilley Band go ‘Looking For The Magic’ with breathless energy and insistent determination. The Romantics kick up a storm on ‘What I Like About You’ – its hectic rhythm guitar, squealing harmonica, and raw Beatles-like vitality making it an absolute killer. Staten Island’s Dirty Looks deliver their paean to rock’n’roll, ‘Let Go’, with the same energy and drive that any punk band would have been proud to muster, while the Tweeds nail our musical addiction in one with ‘I Need That Record’. Also included is the Flamin’ Groovies’ original US version of ‘Shake Some Action’, which Cyril Jordan claims is their best ever recording and we are not arguing. 

“Come On Let’s Go!” presents us with a smorgasbord of power pop classics, obscurities and left-field gems – collective proof that nothing shakes some action like a snappy guitar-based pop song delivered with a powerful beat, boundless energy and joyous enthusiasm.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Come On Let's Go - The Paley Brothers & The Ramones

  • 02 Preview I Wanna Be With You - Raspberries

  • 03 Preview What I Like About You - The Romantics

  • 04 Preview Let Go - Dirty Looks

  • 05 Preview Looking For The Magic - Dwight Twilley Band

  • 06 Preview I Need That Record - The Tweeds

  • 07 Preview Shake Some Action (First version) - The Flamin' Groovies

  • 08 Preview (My Girl) Maryanne - The Spongetones

  • 09 Preview Radio Heart - The Secrets*

  • 10 Preview Kerri - Robert Johnson

  • 11 Preview The Trains - Nashville Ramblers

  • 12 Preview Nuclear Boy - 20/20

  • 13 Preview Better Than Anyone Else - The Toms

  • 14 Preview Nothing Comes Close - Bill Lloyd

  • 15 Preview (Baby) It's You - The Boys

  • 16 Preview It's Only Dark - Wire Train

  • 17 Preview Andy, Please (First version) - Van Duren & Jody Stephens

  • 18 Preview Glitter Best - The Rooks

  • 19 Preview Teen Line - The Shivvers

  • 20 Preview September Gurls - Big Star

  • 21 Preview Not The Way It Seems - Gary Charlson

  • 22 Preview Tomorrow Night (First version) - Shoes

  • 23 Preview Rock And Roll Is Dead - The Rubinoos

  • 24 Preview One World - Utopia

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought