Planet Beat - From The Shel Talmy Vaults Various Artists (Shel Talmy)


Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

Another instalment drawn from the one of the most significant catalogues in UK 1960s rock history: the vault of legendary producer Shel Talmy. Over half the contents are previously unreleased, and feature scintillating outtakes and alternate versions alongside acknowledged classics of the beat group genre, many featuring a young guitar slinger by the name of Jimmy Page.

From his efforts with the Kinks and the Who alone, the Shel Talmy sound would wield considerable influence during the crucial mid-60s episode in popular culture. But for every ‘You Really Got Me’ or ‘My Generation’, there were dozens of also-rans that have since become underground classics or, such as the contents of “Planet Beat”, lie waiting to be re-evaluated. This new collection features a handpicked selection from the remarkable cadre of beat and R&B recordings Talmy produced or handled between 1964 and 1966, all redolent of a time when not only was his work rate alarmingly prodigious, but the batting average high, aesthetically if not always commercially.

You might say the timing was perfect. With his arrival in London the summer of 1962, the nervy American walked into the British music business at the precise moment the beat scene was in ferment. True, most of his early Decca production work focused on vocalists past their sell-by date or pop schlock such as the Bachelors, but as these discs were also amongst his first successes, it makes sense that Talmy maintained that route. Having cut his teeth as a recording engineer in Hollywood, he was also au fait with the full range of pop music archetypes and could bring an American methodology to the making of records that was unusual in the British industry at that point.

By the time Talmy had struck out on his own as an independent in the spring of 1964, he had further honed his techniques. He established a relationship with a recording studio, IBC Sound in London’s Portland Place, whose facilities delivered the sonics required, and focused on session musicians who could quickly deliver what some of the less disciplined players in the self-contained beat group environment were less able. His personal picks soon devolved to Nicky Hopkins on piano, Bobby Graham on drums and Jimmy Page on guitar. The three are all over many of the tracks here, and in particular regard to Page, the compilation acts as an interesting and unique survey of his first major sojourn in the studio.

As for the featured artists themselves, their stories are all likely typical of that era, with the occasional historical wrinkle that makes for a wonderful tidbit (such as the presence of future participants in both Emmerdale and Game Of Thrones). It was an innocent period when the bright lights of Denmark Street attracted many a provincial beat group anxious to follow in the wake of the Beatles. Eventually, frustrated with a relative lack of autonomy when it came to his releases, Talmy started his own short-lived Planet Records imprint in late 1965.

While the label missed the main thrust of the beat age, Planet’s release schedule nevertheless contains several worthy examples of the genre from the Trekkas, Tribe and League Of Gentlemen, all included here. They join alternative versions of well-thumbed beat nuggets such as the Breadcrumbs’ ‘Everybody Knows’, Wayne Gibson’s ‘See You Later Alligator’, and the First Gear’s ‘Leave My Kitten Alone’. Rare singles from the Dennisons, Lancastrians, Zephyrs and Untamed join unreleased excitement from the the Liberators, Talismen, Presidents, Pathfinders and Johnny B Great. Taken together, they constitute as much a reminder of the signature qualities Shel Talmy brought to British record-making as they do of the glory days of this country’s rock’n’roll past.





Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview My Baby Is Gone - The Untamed

  • 02 Preview Leave My Kitten Alone (alt take) - The First Gear

  • 03 Preview Why - The Pathfinders

  • 04 Preview There's Something About You - The Zephyrs

  • 05 Preview Lucy (You Sure Did It This Time) - The Dennisons

  • 06 Preview Everybody Knows (alt version) - Sean Buckley & The Breadcrumbs

  • 07 Preview Lonely Man - The Lancastrians

  • 08 Preview It's Superman - The Imp-Acts

  • 09 Preview She Said Yeah - The Presidents

  • 10 Preview See You Later Alligator (alt take) - Wayne Gibson

  • 11 Preview I'm Leaving - The Tribe

  • 12 Preview Gotta Have You - The Liberators

  • 13 Preview Casting My Spell - The Talismen

  • 14 Preview How Do They Know - The League Of Gentlemen

  • 15 Preview Black Eyes (alt take) - The Hearts

  • 16 Preview Our Love Is Gone - The Imp-Acts

  • 17 Preview What'd I Say - Johnny B Great & The Orchids

  • 18 Preview Please Go - The Trekkas

  • 19 Preview Was She Tall (demo) - The Lancastrians

  • 20 Preview Love Love Love - The Pathfinders

  • 21 Preview Talk To Me Baby - The Rising Sons

  • 22 Preview Kids Take Over - The Untamed

  • 23 Preview Ding Dong! The Witch Is Dead (alt version) - Wayne Gibson

  • 24 Preview Just Can't Keep A Good Man Down - The Talismen

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought