Nippon Girls: Japanese Pop,Beat & Bossa Nova 1966-1970 Various Artists (Big Beat International)


Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

The Big Beat International label returns with a bang and another celebration of the wonderful world of Japanese pop. After our acclaimed GS I Love You volumes, it’s the girls’ turn, as we examine the female side of the country’s remarkable pop scene with Nippon Girls.

In the years between Elvis’ debut and the rise of Japan’s own Group Sounds scene in late ’65, the country’s pop artists were confined to a repertoire of rehashed Western chart-toppers. Kenji Sazanami was one catalyst for change. Fed up with the traditional songwriting establishment, he headed Stateside, where he obtained the rights for hundreds of American hits. His translations of ‘Johnny Angel’ and others launched the careers of Japan’s most revered female pop stars – the Peanuts, Mieko Hirota, Ryoko Moriyama, Mie Nakao and Yukari Ito. But, aside from a few winners, the bulk of these cover versions were twee reductions that lacked personality and pizzazz.

The record sleeves featured the young girl stars in spaghetti straps and petticoats, looking very Shirley Temple and perpetuating a morally upright image deemed safe for the Japanese public. The Japanese media and monopolistic talent agencies were relentless in their pursuit of wholesome talent, but their plans were derailed by the Beatles’ incursion. Japanese teens too, had been seduced by the Liverpudlians’ DIY spirit and the authenticity that was missing from Japan’s manufactured pop. This new wave of rock bands swiped from the British Invasion and blurred their influences with dissonant chords and Oriental melodies, thus creating a unique brand of Japanese rock’n’roll called Group Sounds.

The GS boom liberated many of Japan’s finest writers, who were sidelined by the tenured Enka (traditional Japanese music) songwriters and rendered useless during “cover-pops” mania. For example, pianist-cum-songwriter Kunihiko Suzuki had to adopt an alias in order to land writing gigs. Once the GS boom hit, however, he emerged from anonymity and penned ‘Koi No Hallelujah’, a monster hit for little-known Jun Mayuzumi. The record was the girl-pop manifesto. It replaced orchestras with organs and shrill electric guitars, upped the volume and vibrato, and showcased a yearning, mournful vocal that came to epitomise the girl-pop sound. Her two best records are undoubtedly ‘Black Room’ and ‘Douyou No Yoru Nanika Ga Okiru’. Both share booming bass lines, a tough vocal and a dancefloor readiness that’s already caught the ear of DJs and freakbeat collectors worldwide.

Elsewhere on this lavishly illustrated comp, you’ll find Margaret, the protégée of guitar wiz Terry Terauchi, who co-wrote her two singles for Seven Seas. ‘Aeba Suki Suki’ is primitive girl punk, with its shambolic backing provided by Terry’s group, the Bunnys. Other highlights include ‘Taiyou Ga Kowai No’, the storming Crown debut of “the new voice of 1968” Kaoru Hibiki, the wild ‘Bazazz Tengoku’ by the Cupids and actress Mari Atsumi, who rose to fame in a series of flicks known as the “soft-bodied mollusk” series and cut a number of very sexy singles in the early 70s. Third single ‘Suki Yo Ai Shite’ is the most sensual of them all.

The collection is the brainwave of noted girl group expert and latter day Japanese pop champion Sheila Burgel of Cha Cha Charming magazine, who provides a fascinating overview of this tremendous and compelling tributary of 60s pop. Highly recommended to girl group fanciers, GS groovers and anyone else with a keen ear for eclectic sounds.

Sheila Burgel is editor of Cha Cha Charming magazine: ( a journalistic tribute to girl-powered pop - past, present and future.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Black Room - Jun Mayuzumi

  • 02 Preview Sharock No. 1 - Mie Nakao

  • 03 Preview Peacock Baby - Reiko Ohara

  • 04 Preview Suki Sa Suki Sa Suki Sa - Nana Kinomi & Leo Beats

  • 05 Preview Taiyou Wa Naite Iru - Ayumi Ishida

  • 06 Preview Yé-Yé - Eiko Shuri

  • 07 Preview Nagisa No Tenshi - Mieko Hirota

  • 08 Preview Koi No Ban Ban - Linda Yamamoto

  • 09 Preview Kiiro No Sekai - J Girls

  • 10 Preview Suki Yo Ai Shite - Mari Atsumi

  • 11 Preview Watashi No Inori - Rumi Koyama

  • 12 Preview Komacchau Na - Linda Yamamoto

  • 13 Preview Bazazz Tengoku - The Cupids

  • 14 Preview Doyou No Yoru Nanika Ga Okiru - Jun Mayuzumi

  • 15 Preview Hatsu Koi No Letter - Miki Obata

  • 16 Preview Ame Agari No Samba - Ryoko Moriyama

  • 17 Preview Taiyou Ga Kowai No - Kaoru Hibiki

  • 18 Preview Uwasa No Futari - Mie Nakao

  • 19 Preview Koi Wa Heart De - Aki Izumi

  • 20 Preview Tenshi No Itazura - Emy Jackson

  • 21 Preview Tsukikage No Rendezvous - Keiko Mari

  • 22 Preview Aeba Suki Suki - Margaret with Bunnys

  • 23 Preview Koi No Yorokobi - Sayuri Yoshinaga with Schoolmates

  • 24 Preview Kaze To Otoko No Ko - Mieko Hirota

  • 25 Preview Nikui Aitsu - Mika Nohira

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought