Nick Cave Heard Them Here First Various Artists (Heard Them Here First)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1437

Nick Cave is an uncompromising artist not known for concealing his influences. Sample them here on this mixed-genre programme of songs he was inspired to cover.

The latest in our acclaimed “Heard Them Here First” series sees a compilation of eclectic songs, all covered by Nick Cave during his long and varied career, from young punk to modern film scorer. The collection is sequenced to mirror Cave’s own progress – beginning with the Stooges’ punk staple ‘Fun House’ and ending with John Lee Hooker’s ‘Burnin’ Hell’, for which Cave set up a band called the Bootleggers to record the soundtrack to John Hillcoat’s prohibition-themed 2012 film Lawless.

We have brought together a tracklist of artists that were idols to Cave, in many cases going on to become his friends and associates – Johnny Cash requesting him to journey across the US for fruitful joint recording sessions, and Nina Simone agreeing to perform live for him at the 1999 Meltdown Festival.

The original versions of songs Cave chose to cover – on stage, for magazine cover-mounts, for films, tribute albums, in various bands and with a multitude of cohorts – show just how keen a music collector he is. From the 1920s musical theatre of ‘Mack The Knife’, to Pulp’s ‘Disco 2000’, via a Gainsbourg duet and UK comedy treasures Pete and Dud, Cave is resolutely a music fan.

With Cave about to tour once more, and his film 20,000 Days On Earth riding high in the award nominations, interest and respect for his work has never been more acute. With notes by his biographer Ian Johnston and cover photograph by long-term Bad Seed associate, fellow Australian Bleddyn Butcher, this is an essential guide to Cave’s influences for anyone with an admiration or curiosity into his tastes and recordings.

Liz Buckley


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Fun House - The Stooges

  • 02 Preview I Put A Spell On You - Nina Simone

  • 03 Preview Muddy Waters - Johnny Cash

  • 04 Preview The Long Black Veil - Lefty Frizzell

  • 05 Preview Jesus Met The Woman At The Well - The Pilgrim Travelers

  • 06 Preview Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart - Gene Pitney

  • 07 Preview Hammer Song - The Sensational Alex Harvey Band

  • 08 Preview Hey Joe - The Leaves

  • 09 Preview Long Time Man - Tim Rose

  • 10 Preview Tower Of Song - Leonard Cohen

  • 11 Preview Bedazzled - Peter Cook & Dudley Moore

  • 12 Preview Je T'aime...Moi Non Plus - Serge Gainsbourg & Jane Birkin

  • 13 Preview Death Is Not The End - Bob Dylan

  • 14 Preview Knoxville Girl - The Louvin Brothers

  • 15 Preview The Big Hurt - Miss Toni Fisher

  • 16 Preview Moritat (Mack The Knife) - Harald Paulsen

  • 17 Preview Disco 2000 - Pulp

  • 18 Preview I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry - Hank Williams

  • 19 Preview I Feel So Good - J.B. Lenoir & His African Hunch Rhythm

  • 20 Preview There's No Night Out In The Jail - Chad Morgan

  • 21 Preview John The Revelator - Blind Willie Johnson

  • 22 Preview Burnin' Hell - John Lee Hooker & His Guitar

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought