Autonomy - The Productions Of Martin Rushent Various Artists (Producer Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1636

“Autonomy” is a sensational addition to our Ace’s long-standing producer’s series.

After cutting his teeth as a recording engineer for artists from T.Rex to Shirley Bassey, Martin Rushent broke through in 1977 producing the Stranglers. From that point, he helped give new wave bands a delicious pop edge helming seminal recordings by 999, Buzzcocks, XTC, Generation X and the Rezillos to name a few. As the 80s dawned he set up Genetic sound and armed with the latest technology his pioneering work with the Human League on “Dare” defined the sound of UK synthpop and brought him international recognition. After that, the hits and cutting edge production work continued.

Curated by legendary DJ Gary Crowley, “Autonomy takes” a welcome look at Rushent’s production career. Kicking off with the Stranglers ‘(Get A) Grip (On Yourself)’ it powers through some of his finest post-punk work including Buzzcocks ‘Autonomy’, 999’s ‘Homicide’ and XTC’s ‘Are You Receiving Me?’ Ian Gomm’s US hit ‘Hold On’ rub shoulders with the Human League’s ‘Hard Times’, Altered Images ‘I Could Be Happy’ and the Members ‘Working Girl’. There are hidden gems as well like the Go-Go’s ‘Beneath The Blue Sky’, the Associates ‘Breakfast’ and the electronic perfection of Hard Corps Je Suis Passée.’ All told, these 19 tracks give a perfect overview of Martin Rushent’s finest years.

Along with Crowley’s liner notes, the CD booklet includes quotes from many musicians and producers who worked with Rushent including Ian Gomm, Jo Callis, Steve Diggle, Stephen Street, Claire Grogan, Belinda Carlisle, Andy Partridge and Jean Jacques Burnel.

Finally, there are poignant memories penned by his children, along with some candid photos that show Rushent inside and outside of his beloved studio habitat.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview (Get A) Grip [On Yourself] - The Stranglers

  • 02 Preview Autonomy - Buzzcocks

  • 03 Preview Kiss Me Deadly - Generation X

  • 04 Preview Homicide - 999

  • 05 Preview Destination Venus - The Rezillos

  • 06 Preview Are You Receiving Me? - XTC

  • 07 Preview Hold On - Ian Gomm

  • 08 Preview Tonight - Rachel Sweet

  • 09 Preview Guitar Beat - Raybeats

  • 10 Preview Hard Times (Instrumental) - Human League

  • 11 Preview I Could Be Happy (Martin Rushent Remix) - Altered Images

  • 12 Preview A Way You'll Never Be (12'' Version) - Leisure Process

  • 13 Preview Working Girl - The Members

  • 14 Preview Steamhammer Sam - Intaferon

  • 15 Preview Beneath The Blue Sky - Go Gos

  • 16 Preview Don't Touch Me - Hazel O'Connor

  • 17 Preview Breakfast - The Associates

  • 18 Preview Je Suis Passée - Hard Corps

  • 19 Preview Big Sweep (Club Mix) (1985) - Then Jerico

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought