Miami Rockabilly Various Artists (States & Regions)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Miami Rockabilly (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Wall to wall beaches, balmy weather, palm trees swaying in ocean breezes, and floral splendour are the images associated with Miami and its sister city, Miami Beach which in less than a century rose from a mosquito-infested swamp that is the Everglades to blossom into a sub-tropical metropolis.

Miami enjoyed its heyday in the 40s and 50s. Planes trailing long streamers would fly over the beach advertising multi-course meals for $1.50 and the cafeterias teamed with people from all walks of life, many of them retirees or honeymooners earning Miami the dubious reputation as a "land of the newly wed or the nearly dead". For many years after the war, Arthur Godfrey's Talent Scouts, one of the most popular shows on American TV, was broadcast from a Miami hotel, further publicising Miami's delights to a nation-wide audience.

Unlike major recording centres such as Memphis or Nashville, Miami lacked a musical identity and attracted very few out-of-town acts. Despite this the area was home to several wild and rocking combos.

MIAMI ROCKABILLY, which showcases most of the local rockabilly and rock'n'roll talent active in the area between 1956 and 1960, has been a long time in the making. Ted Carroll tracked down some of the material several years ago and later struck a deal for the remaining songs over a kitchen table in the backwoods of Southern Florida. Rob Finnis made sense of it all and researched an in-depth sleevenote. The result is a value-for-money 32-tracker crammed with ultra-rare rockabilly gems most of which are making their CD debut here, remastered from original tapes or acetates by Sound Mastering's Ace boffins (pun intended). If one or two of these tracks sound a bit cheesy, then that's the way it was in the studio on the day.

Perhaps the best known recording on MIAMI ROCKABILLY is Tommy Spurlin's Hang Loose. Originally issued in 1956 (only in the USA) it became hugely popular during the British rockabilly revival of the late 70s and a timely re-issue on a specialist label was a perennial seller. Another of Spurlin's songs, Heart Throb was featured in the frat movie smash "Porky's" some 25 years after it was recorded. Also included are Curley Jim Morrison's ultra-rare UK release Airforce Blues and such obscurities as Wes Hardin's Any Way and Ross Minimi's frantic 1959 workout, Baby Rock. These last two would cost in the region of $1200 if one wished to acquire the original AFS and Gulfstream label 45s. And if you like your rockabilly wild, woolly and uncompromising then Ray Pate & The Rhythm Rockets' adrenaline charged 2-sider, My Shadow c/w Lucky Day will suit.

These are a few of the impossibly hard-to-find 45's on a CD that surely qualifies as one of the best rockabilly issues of 1998.

* 32 raw hog-wild rockin' tracks
* 3000 + word in-depth sleevenote by Rob Finnis
* $6000 + worth of rockin' 45s on one CD
* Plus 11 bonus tracks unissued in the 50s and up to now only available on poorly mastered, hard to find, limited edition vinyl

by Crawford Anderson


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Any Way - Wesley Hardin with The Roxters

  • 02 Preview Knocked Out Joint On Mars - Buck Trail

  • 03 Preview I Was Doing It Too - The Roxsters

  • 04 Preview My Baby Don't Rock Me (Now) - Kent Westberry & The Chaperones

  • 05 Preview Hang Loose - Tommy Spurlin & The Southern Boys

  • 06 Preview Heart Throb - Tommy Spurlin

  • 07 Preview No Time For Heartaches - Tommy Spurlin

  • 08 Preview So Long - The Roxsters

  • 09 Preview Blues Keep Knocking - Buck Trail

  • 10 Preview One Eyed Sam - Tommy Spurlin & The Southern Boys

  • 11 Preview No Place To Park - Kent Westberry & The Chaperones

  • 12 Preview My Shadow - The Rhythm Rockets

  • 13 Preview Boppin' Strollin' & Messin' Around - Ray Pate & The Rhythm Rockets

  • 14 Preview Kitty Kat Rock - Art Law

  • 15 Preview Oh! Janet - Ross Minimi

  • 16 Preview Lucky Day - The Rhythm Rockets

  • 17 Preview Here, There, Everywhere - Ray Pate & The Rhythm Rockets

  • 18 Preview Baby Rock - Ross Minimi

  • 19 Preview Donny's Boogie - Don Pate & The Rhythm Rockets

  • 20 Preview Honky Tonk On Second Street - Buck Trail & The Dead Enders

  • 21 Preview Let's Dance - Bobby Gaye & Sparkle Tones

  • 22 Preview Sweetest Gal In Town - Jim Voytek

  • 23 Preview Everybody's Gonna Do The Rock'n'Roll - The Rhythm Rockers

  • 24 Preview Dandy Sandy - Jimmy Gale's Imperials

  • 25 Preview Rockin' With Rosie - Wally Deane & The Flips

  • 26 Preview Rock'n'Roll Itch - Curley Jim & The Billey Rocks

  • 27 Preview I'm Tellin' Ya, Baby - Wally Deane & The Flips

  • 28 Preview She's Mine - The Roxters

  • 29 Preview We're Gonna Rock All Night - Jimmy Gale's Imperials

  • 30 Preview Airforce Blues - Curley Jim & The Billey Rocks

  • 31 Preview TV Mama - The Frantics Four - vocal by Bobby Shane

  • 32 Preview Down By The Old Millstream - The Frantics Four - vocal by Bobby Shane

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought