Rarest Rockabilly And Hillbilly Boogie/Best Of Ace Rockabilly Various Artists (Rockabilly Compilations)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Roll up roll up and get a bargain again from Ace as we offer two original albums backed up neatly on to one shiny disc. This time they are the legendary CH 44 and CH 45, known to their friends as Rarest Rockabilly & Hillbilly Boogie & The Best Of Ace Rockabilly. Most of the sides were originally pressed up through Starday's custom pressing operation in usually limited quantities, hence their extreme rarity value as 45s. Some of the finest carpet-chewing rockabilly ever cut, is featured here and some even call it art. Country star Leon Payne, however was not so 'out' about it as he hid under the pseudonym of Rock Rogers, in fear of alienating his country fans. Likewise Thumper Jones is a thinly disguised George Jones , ranting on the wild "How Come It". From 1955 'til the advent of the Bobbies it was a fine thing to be young, southern and have a flat top.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Nothin' But A Nuthin' - Jimmy Stewart & His Nighthawks

  • 02 Preview Darlin' - Jimmie Dale

  • 03 Preview Baby Doll - Jimmie Dale

  • 04 Preview Pretending Is A Game - Sleepy Jeffers & The Davis Twins

  • 05 Preview Don't Sweep That Dirt On Me - Buddy Shaw

  • 06 Preview My Baby Left Me - Rock Rogers

  • 07 Preview Little Dog Blues - Mel Price

  • 08 Preview Henpecked Daddy - Ralph Johnson And The Hillbilly Show

  • 09 Preview Umm Boy You're My Baby - Bill Johnson & The Dabblers

  • 10 Preview Stoney Mountain Boogie - Stoney Mountain Playboys

  • 11 Preview My Blackbirds Are Bluebirds Now - Sleepy Jeffers & The Davis Twins

  • 12 Preview No More - Buddy Shaw

  • 13 Preview Big Black Cat - R D Hendon And The Western Jamboree Cowboys

  • 14 Preview It's Saturday Night - Bill Mack

  • 15 Preview Rockin' Daddy - Sonny Fisher & The Rocking Boys

  • 16 Preview Everybody's Movin' - Glen Glenn

  • 17 Preview I Can't Find The Doorknob - Jimmy And Johnny

  • 18 Preview My Big Fat Baby - Sonny Hall & The Echoes

  • 19 Preview How Come It - Thumper Jones

  • 20 Preview Trucker From Tennessee - Link Davis

  • 21 Preview Little Bit More - Sleepy La Beef

  • 22 Preview Jitterbop Baby - Hal Harris

  • 23 Preview Let's Get It On - Hershel Almond with Al Good & His Band

  • 24 Preview One Cup Of Coffee And A Cigarette - Glen Glenn

  • 25 Preview I'm A Hobo - Danny Reeves

  • 26 Preview Rock It - George Jones

  • 27 Preview Sneaky Pete - Sonny Fisher

  • 28 Preview I'm Through - Sleepy La Beef

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought