King's Serious Soul: Too Much Pain Various Artists (King)


Southern Soul
Catalogue Id:

In the R&B world, the King label has a hugely well deserved reputation, but it's only been with the recent releases of King Funk" (CDBGPD 135) and "King Northern Soul" (CDKEND 185) that widespread appreciation of its contribution to soul music has occurred. Now "Too Much Pain" reveals the southern and deep side of King - and its affiliated concerns such as Federal and Hollywood. Arguably this was the strongest aspect of the company's musical output in the 60s."

This 24 track collection is full of gritty, emotive vocals straight from the church, and masterpieces of downtempo passion that have lain in the vaults for far too long. They are all from southern soul's Golden Decade to 1973, some in-house productions but many leased in, especially from Macon's Bobby Smith whose Boblo logo/publishing concern brought out so many superb and highly sought after records.

There are some southern soul heroes here, like Sam Baker with his hoarse, bluesy 'Why Does A Woman Treat A Man So Bad', the Florida born Jeb Stuart singing his heart out on 'I Don't Want To Leave You Darling' and the Patterson Twins' two superbly arranged Muscle Shoals recordings. However, many of the artists may well be unfamiliar even to die hard soul devotees - and their undocumented careers reflect both King's low profile in soul circles and their own lack of commercial success. But the quality of the vocals here is very high indeed.

Take the Sam Cooke-flavoured tones of Eddie James for example - two superb country soul cuts from Nashville. Or Marie Queenie Lyons, Nancy Butts and Gloria Walker, three wonderfully gifted gospel-based female singers of real ability. The Lyons track comes from her super-rare LP, and although she is acknowledged for her hard funk, this ballad really lets her stretch her lungs. Nancy Butts' melodic 'Only One Love' has long been a personal favourite, and Gloria Walker's 'When My Baby Cries' hits a very powerful emotional peak.

Deep soul fans in particular will be delighted with the inclusion of three all time classic cuts. Thomas Bailey's Pickett-like screams on 'Wish I Was Back' have made it one of the most in-demand 45s in the world, and no wonder! Eugene Evans' intense, almost tortured 'Too Much Pain' clearly shows the vocal influence that the colossus of King soul, James Brown, had on so many of his label mates. And Jimmy Braswell's awesome horn-rich, throat -tearing 'I Can't Give You My Heart' is in most deep fans Top 10 singles. Wonderful to hear these in crystal-clear sound.

None of the tracks here made it into the national charts, and some are now almost impossible to find on 45. Rarity on this scale doesn't always indicate quality, but King's involvement in southern soul was such that Ady Croasdell and I had an embarrassment of riches putting this CD together, and we intend to issue at least one more volume. Too Much Pain" isn't just for musical masochists - anybody who's enjoyed Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures, or "When A Man Cries" will find that it is right in that same bag. Real serious soul!

By John Ridley


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview (Wish I Was) Back In Your Arms Again - Thomas Bailey

  • 02 Preview Too Much Pain - Eugene Evans

  • 03 Preview Reap What You Sow - Eddie James

  • 04 Preview Am I Wasting My Time - Robert Moore

  • 05 Preview When My Baby Cries - Gloria Walker

  • 06 Preview Lonely Man - Eugene Evans

  • 07 Preview She's Gone Pt I - Billy Soul

  • 08 Preview Come To Me - The Patterson Twins

  • 09 Preview Letter Full Of Tears - Nancy Butts

  • 10 Preview We'll Cry Together - Marie 'Queenie' Lyons

  • 11 Preview Back In Love Again - The Patterson Twins

  • 12 Preview I Can't Get Used To (Living Without You) - Eddie James

  • 13 Preview Heart Can You Hear Me - Freddie Williams

  • 14 Preview I Don't Want To Leave You Darling - Jeb Stuart

  • 15 Preview Just Won't Move - Thomas Bailey

  • 16 Preview Try A Little Harder - Lord Thunder

  • 17 Preview I Can't Give You My Heart - Jimmy Braswell

  • 18 Preview One Hurt - Eugene Evans

  • 19 Preview Only One Love - Nancy Butts

  • 20 Preview All I Want Is You - Lori & Lance

  • 21 Preview Keep On Keeping On - Cody Black

  • 22 Preview My Darling Honey Baby - Billy Soul

  • 23 Preview Why Does A Woman Treat A Man So Bad - Sam Baker

  • 24 Preview Your Love Is Out Of Reach - Jimmy Braswell

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


It's all superb.

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought