Great R&B Duets Various Artists (King)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Good things come in pairs: just ask Noah. There was a time when the market was flooded with duettists looking to double their success quotient by pooling their talents, and nowhere more so was that prevalent than in the world of rhythm'n'blues. The concept has always had commercial potential and throughout the 50s and 60s, many pairings would enjoy international chart status. This new collection though probes a whole lot deeper and by licensing masters from a wide variety of sources Ace has brought together some of the finest and most influential R&B twosomes of all time.

Listening to Etta James with Harvey Fuqua and Brook Benton with Dinah Washington for instance, is proof enough that some people were simply born to sing with each other. That special chemistry, which only occurs when the vibe is a strong as the song, is clearly in evidence throughout the sassified If I Can't Have You and the free wheeling Baby (You've Got What It Takes). The main strength of the boy/girl duos was usually teasers and pleasers like Mickey & Sylvia's Love Is Strange and Huey and Jerry's I Think You Jivin' Me. These were outings that were just made for jukeboxes and many a nickel was invested in repeat-play fare like The Teen Queens' Eddie My Love and Johnnie & Joe's Over The Mountain, Across The Sea. Lesser known but equally desirable items such as Willy and Ruth's original of Elvis' Love Me are to be found here for the first time on CD, along with rarities from the Imperial label via Ruth and Al, alongside Billy and Lillie from Swan Records in Philadelphia.

From these humble beginnings came the frequent anomalies that Berry Gordy pursued during the heyday of Motown, along with the Stax duets, the Atlantic couplings and many, many more. The process was simple and effective, providing of course the parties involved could tolerate each other!

By Stuart Colman


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Baby (You've Got What It Takes) - Brook Benton & Dinah Washington

  • 02 Preview Love Is Strange - Mickey & Sylvia

  • 03 Preview Gee Baby - Joe & Ann

  • 04 Preview Let The Good Times Roll - Shirley & Lee

  • 05 Preview Over The Mountain, Across The Sea - Johnnie & Joe

  • 06 Preview Ko Ko Mo - Gene And Eunice

  • 07 Preview I Hope You're Satisfied - Betty & Dupree

  • 08 Preview You're Mine - Robert And Johnny

  • 09 Preview Creepin', Crawlin', Cryin' - Billy & Lillie

  • 10 Preview Cherry Pie - Marvin & Johnny

  • 11 Preview It's Gonna Work Out Fine - Ike & Tina Turner

  • 12 Preview I Think You Jiving Me - Huey & Jerry

  • 13 Preview Leavin' It All It Up To You - Don & Dewey

  • 14 Preview Bewildered - Mickey & Sylvia

  • 15 Preview Chains Of Love - Bob & Earl

  • 16 Preview Eddie My Love - The Teen Queens

  • 17 Preview It's Too Late - Tarheel Slim & Little Ann

  • 18 Preview Let's Get Together - Oscar McLollie & Annette

  • 19 Preview Real Gone Party - Ruth & Al

  • 20 Preview Tick Tock - Marvin & Johnny

  • 21 Preview Poco-Loco - Gene & Eunice

  • 22 Preview Love Me - Willy & Ruth

  • 23 Preview Dream Girl - Robert And Johnny

  • 24 Preview If I Can't Have You - Etta & Harvey

  • 25 Preview A Rockin' Good Way (To Mess Around And Fall In Love) - Brook Benton & Dinah Washington

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


An essential addition for any R&B collector.

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought