Ian Levine's Solid Stax Sensations Various Artists (Stax)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Pioneering rare soul DJ Ian Levine chooses 25 of his favourite Stax/Volt soulful movers.

Most people on the soul scene know of Ian Levine’s youthful obsession with Motown and Detroit soul in general, and how it led to a 45-year (and counting) career as a tireless promoter of the music he loved as a teenager – whether behind record decks or, in more recent times, as a successful songwriter-producer. Less well known is the fact that the young Ian was almost as obsessive about Stax Records, collecting the blue and yellow Stax era 45s and those on the company’s many subsidiaries with the same level of single-minded intensity that he applied to acquiring rare gems on obscure Detroit labels.

I’ve known Ian since 1969. We met by chance in the Soul City record shop and immediately established a bond of friendship that has continued unbroken ever since. As far as I am concerned, my good friend Ian will always be a man with the most extraordinary passion for soul music, and a lifelong desire to share that passion with others.

When I first visited Ian’s family home in Blackpool in 1970, the broom cupboard-sized space that doubled as his record room boasted a wall full of obscure Stax-related 45s that he was as excited for me to hear as anything else in his already-formidable collection. I stayed for a week, and while I was there every day brought packages containing fresh new obscurities from the Memphis-based company.

I vividly recall that Reggie Milner’s ‘Habit Forming Love’ and the Stingers’ ‘I Refuse To Be Lonely’ were two 45s that Ian and I both heard for the first time during that memorable visit. 45 years later, they are among the selections he has chosen to include in “Solid Stax Sensations”, his first ever compilation for any Ace label and an essential purchase for anyone with an interest in the up-tempo side of Stax.

Many of Ian’s 25 choices are well known floor-fillers via the extensive play they have received from discerning DJs down the decades, but he’s also chosen a pile of lesser-known and equally great sides that deserve to be part of every soul DJ’s playlist. Ian’s notes fully convey the pleasure he still gets from this music after all this time.

Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview And I Love You - Bobby Whitlock

  • 02 Preview Ain't No Need Of Crying - The Rance Allen Group

  • 03 Preview Can You Win - Charlene & The Soul Serenaders

  • 04 Preview (Let Hurt Put You In The) Loser's Seat - Joni Wilson

  • 05 Preview You're My Only Temptation - Roz Ryan

  • 06 Preview City Of Fools - Collette Kelly

  • 07 Preview Hang On - Annette Thomas

  • 08 Preview If You Look Into My Eyes - Proud As Punch

  • 09 Preview I Refuse To Be Lonely - The Stingers

  • 10 Preview The Man In The Street - William Bell

  • 11 Preview I Still Love You - The T.S.U. Toronadoes

  • 12 Preview Habit Forming Love - Reggie Milner

  • 13 Preview Put Me In The Mood - Sylvia & The Blue Jays

  • 14 Preview Where Would You Be Today - Ilana

  • 15 Preview Special Kind Of Woman - Paul Thompson

  • 16 Preview One More Chance - Margie Joseph

  • 17 Preview Your Love Was Strange - The Dramatics

  • 18 Preview Cool My Desire - The Cheques

  • 19 Preview The Stars - Barbara Lewis

  • 20 Preview The Whole World's A Picture Show - The Newcomers

  • 21 Preview I Know A Man Who - The Rance Allen Group

  • 22 Preview The Whole Damn World Is Going Crazy - John Gary Williams

  • 23 Preview Since I Lost My Baby's Love - Major Lance

  • 24 Preview If I Give It Up, I Want It Back - David Porter

  • 25 Preview Gonna Make It Alright - The Rance Allen Group

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought