Hey Baby! The Rockin' South Various Artists (Excello)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

The release of Hey Baby!- The Rockin' South represents a remarkable excavation of the Excello vaults. Much of this music has not been available since the original 78s and 45s were released in Nashville in the 1950s. Little has been reissued on CD, or for that matter vinyl. This is not obscurity for obscurity's sake. Many of the original tapes were lost, recorded over or not returned by the pressing plants. For the first time, the missing masters have been reconstructed from the rare records of collectors in England, Massachusetts, Texas, Tennessee, California and beyond. It is surprising just how few of these records exist and the search was as exhaustive as it was exhausting. And with the latest technology at hand, the engineers at Sound Mastering did a sterling mastering job. Excello is renowned as a blues label. In the early to mid-50s, however, there was a wide variety of southern music released, including gospel, hillbilly, western, even outright pop and rockabilly. The sister Nasco label from '57 to '60 was more pop-oriented, but still had a healthy ration of rock'n'roll. Hey Baby!- The Rockin' South kicks off with Al Ferrier's title track, a classic slab of rockabilly. After another quintessential rockabilly performance by Jackson Toombs, we revert to the charming hillbilly/neo-rockabilly sounds of the Lindsey Brothers, Ray Batts and Don Haggard & The Sunset Drifters. The Excello segment is concluded with the only black artist here, Slim Harpo's best rocker Bobby Sox Baby.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Hey! Baby - Al Ferrier

  • 02 Preview I'm The Man - Al Ferrier

  • 03 Preview Kiss-A-Me Quick - Jackson Toombs

  • 04 Preview Big Hearted Joe - Lindsey Brothers

  • 05 Preview Let's Get Down To Business - Lindsey Brothers

  • 06 Preview Stealin' Sugar - Ray Batts

  • 07 Preview Somebody Clipped Your Wings - Don Haggard & The Sunset Drifters

  • 08 Preview Havin' A Whole Lot Of Fun - Johnny Jano

  • 09 Preview I'd Make A Good Man For You - Johnny Jano

  • 10 Preview Trapped - Billy Fortune

  • 11 Preview Bobby Sox Baby - Slim Harpo

  • 12 Preview My Baby's Gone - Bobby Jenkins

  • 13 Preview I'm Out - The Surf Riders

  • 14 Preview Little Andy - Jackie Trent

  • 15 Preview Spellbound - Lowell McGuire & The Crescendos

  • 16 Preview Leave My Girlie Alone - Lowell McGuire & The Crescendos

  • 17 Preview Mama Mama Mama (Look What Your Little Boy's Done - Warren Storm

  • 18 Preview Swamp Gal - Tommy Bell

  • 19 Preview Little Baby - Tommy Facenda

  • 20 Preview It's Love Baby - The Monorays

  • 21 Preview What's Your Name? - The Monorays

  • 22 Preview Werewolf - Gary Warren

  • 23 Preview Shorty, Shorty - Bob & Ray

  • 24 Preview Troubles Troubles (Troubles On My Mind) - Warren Storm

  • 25 Preview So Long So Long (Good Bye Good Bye) - Warren Storm

  • 26 Preview Honey Bee (I Love You) - Tommy Angel

  • 27 Preview Black Night - Tommy Angel

  • 28 Preview Mama Doll - Roy Teo

  • 29 Preview Tell Me - The Trends

  • 30 Preview I'm A Little Boy (Looking For Love) - Warren Storm

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought