Krooning: Southern Doo Wop Vol 2 Various Artists (Excello)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This second collection of fabulous southern doo wop draws from the vaults of the Excello and Nasco labels based in Nashville as part of the well-known Ernie’s Record Mart operation. This time the selection covers the slightly later 1957/8 period, including groups who recorded several sides for the labels alongside some one-shot releases. Label owner Ernest Young catered largely for the local black market, but was later able to sell on a wider basis as southern workers began migrating to the northern industrial US cities.

Excello had some national chart success with the Gladiolas and Johnny Bragg & the Marigolds. The latter group open our collection with the rocking swing/doo wop crossover track ‘Juke Box Rock And Roll’, which neatly sets the scene. Later we can enjoy a different version of their big-selling ‘Rollin’ Stone’, a song that attracted several covers at the time. Excello’s biggest hit was the Gladiolas’ ‘Little Darlin’’, presented here in an alternate version, although it was subsequently better-known in white cover versions from the Diamonds and the Four Seasons. The Gladiolas’ follow-up was ‘Run, Run Little Joe’, a fabulous fast-paced number with an added Caribbean feel, which failed to maintain their momentum, while ‘Say You’ll Be Mine’ has a similar feel, blended with some distinct nods to Paul Anka’s hit ‘Diana’.

The King Krooners weigh in with seven tracks here, of which four are previously unreleased a cappella gems. The group included a strong bass voice, and thought carefully about their vocal arrangements, making the results very polished and satisfying, with ‘There’s Been A Change’ and ‘One Day, One Day’ being immediate standouts.

The tracks here by lesser-known groups are equally interesting. The Themes’ ‘Yes! That’s Love’ revisits the melody of ‘Little Darlin’’, although the youthful lead voice adds something different. ‘Sloo Foot Soo’ from the Seniors is a bluesy finger-popper with some good guitar and sax on the break, while the Five Chums’ ‘Give Me The Power’ is distinctly gospel-rooted. The calypso-styled ‘Don’t Say Tomorrow’ by the Hollyhocks was also recorded by the Marigolds. 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Juke Box Rock And Roll - Johnny Bragg And The Marigolds

  • 02 Preview School Daze - The King Krooners

  • 03 Preview There's Been A Change - The King Krooners

  • 04 Preview Comin' Home To You - The Gladiolas

  • 05 Preview High School Affair - The Five Chums

  • 06 Preview One Day, One Day - The King Krooners

  • 07 Preview It's You, My Darling It's You - Johnny Bragg And The Marigolds

  • 08 Preview Little Darlin' - The Gladiolas

  • 09 Preview Sloo Foot Soo - The Seniors

  • 10 Preview Yes That's Love - The Themes

  • 11 Preview Now That She's Gone - The King Krooners

  • 12 Preview Let Me Know - The King Krooners

  • 13 Preview Run, Run Little Joe - The Gladiolas

  • 14 Preview Rollin' Stone - The Marigolds

  • 15 Preview Steps Of Love - The King Krooners

  • 16 Preview I Wanta Know - The Gladiolas

  • 17 Preview Give Me The Power - The Five Chums

  • 18 Preview Why Don't You - The Marigolds

  • 19 Preview What Does The Future Hold - The King Krooners

  • 20 Preview Say You'll Be Mine - The Gladiolas

  • 21 Preview The Magic Of You - The Themes

  • 22 Preview Don't Say Tomorrow - The Hollyhocks

  • 23 Preview Why Did You Leave Me - The Seniors

  • 24 Preview You For Me - The Hollyhocks

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A superb addition to any R&B collection - and essential to any collector of vocal groups or Southern music.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought