Here Comes The Hurt: Soul Ballads From King, Federal & DeLuxe Various Artists (King)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

“Here Comes The Hurt” is a successor to the two volumes of “King’s Serious Soul” that John Ridley compiled for us about 10 years ago. This time, by not sticking strictly to southern soul origins or influences, we’ve been able to include many excellent tracks that weren’t eligible for those previous releases, although the south is still well represented.

James Duncan, Thomas Bailey and Billy Soul have many followers; their tracks, like most on here, appear on CD for the first time. Charles Spurling’s ‘Don’t Let Him Hurt You Baby’ is a great ballad from a man who lived and worked well north of the Mason-Dixon line and usually wrote and sang uptempo numbers. His second offering, ‘Buddy Boy’, also displays his command of all styles within the soul genre.

Ricky Lyons, June Sims and Lee Holland were one-shot artists but cut the mustard on their lone singles. Ricky Lyons’ 45 came out on both the Federal and King labels and has the authority of a soul standard, yet it seems to be his only recording. Toni Williams’ ‘Precious Minutes’ is a little-known southern masterpiece, as is Bobby Wade’s lushly produced ‘Blind Over You’. Bigger acts such as Earl Gaines, Marva Whitney and Pat Lundy sing lesser-known but terrific soul tracks.

Vocal group collectors will enjoy the early soul of the Snapshots and the King Pins and dig the later harmony of Dee Dee, Joseph & David. Lee Holland’s ‘Give Me Back My Heart’ features fabulous backing vocals too. Tony & Carol ‘Let’s Not Wait’ is a harmonious duet that builds to quite a crescendo.

Acts from an earlier era show how they could adapt to the brave new soul era; Hank Ballard and the Bobbettes give virtuoso demonstrations of how to deliver a soulful ballad. Lynn Davis is backed by a female chorus on ‘My New Love’ which, like the Bobbettes, will impress lovers of the girl group sound.

A great deep soul Federal recording, ‘Fall In These Arms Of Mine’ by Johnny Soul is released here for the first time ever. For those with a gospel bent, Christine Kittrell’s ‘Ain’t Never Seen So Much Rain Before’ is a tour-de-force and T.C. Lee & the Bricklayers’ ‘Get Away From Here’ features a preaching lead with chorus straight out of the church.

The sound quality is immaculate; all tracks are taken from the original master tapes. US soul enthusiast Bob Abrahamian provides informative and fascinating notes and there are some great new photos from the King archives. The recordings stretch from 1960 to 1971 and feature a wide range of soul styles on slow burning ballads.


By Ady Croasdell 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Here Comes The Hurt - Hank Ballard

  • 02 Preview Don't Let Him Hurt You Baby - Charles Spurling

  • 03 Preview Ain't Never Seen So Much Rain Before - Christine Kittrell

  • 04 Preview Tell The Whole World - June Sims

  • 05 Preview Too Much For Me To Bear - Barbara Burton & The Messengers

  • 06 Preview Blind Over You - Bobby Wade

  • 07 Preview Let's Not Wait - Tony & Carol

  • 08 Preview Have No Fear - Ricky Lyons

  • 09 Preview Why - James Duncan

  • 10 Preview Give Me Back My Heart - Lee Holland

  • 11 Preview I Need You - The Snapshots

  • 12 Preview How Long Will It Last - The King Pins

  • 13 Preview The Door Is Still Open - Earl Gaines

  • 14 Preview Fall In These Arms Of Mine - Johnny Soul

  • 15 Preview She's Gone Pt 2 - Billy Soul

  • 16 Preview My Pillow Stays Wet - James Duncan & The Duncan Trio

  • 17 Preview Fran - Thomas Bailey

  • 18 Preview Precious Minutes - Toni Williams

  • 19 Preview Your Love Was Good For Me - Marva Whitney

  • 20 Preview Buddy Boy - Charles Spurling

  • 21 Preview City Called Loneliville - Dee Dee, Joseph & David

  • 22 Preview Are You Satisfied (With Your Love) - The Bobbettes

  • 23 Preview My New Love - Lynn Davis

  • 24 Preview Get Away From Here - T.C. Lee & The Bricklayers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A terrific emotion-sapping 24-tracker ★★★★

Record Collector


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought