Hall Of Fame: Rare And Unissued Gems From The FAME Vaults Various Artists (Fame)


Southern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Nearly two years after we began our initial excavation of the Rick Hall’s FAME Studios tape vault, our findings continue to enthral. So far we’ve brought you CDs of the complete FAME recordings of Spencer Wiggins, Candi Staton and Jimmy Hughes, the first of several volumes by George Jackson and a fantastic boxed set, as well as numerous vinyl treats. Now we’re reaching into the deepest corners of the FAME vaults for our first multi-artist scoop of rare and precious soul, part of an ongoing series we call “Hall Of Fame”. 

The series will focus primarily on unreleased gems from the studio’s vaults, but will also make room for unreissued sides along the way. Most recordings are finished masters, although we will also be including some demos to give the listener a glimpse behind the scenes at Avalon Avenue. Many will be early recordings of acknowledged classics, as is the case here with Clarence Carter’s demos of ‘Tell Daddy’ and ‘Too Weak To Fight’.

The quality is never less than first-rate and is really quite staggering at times. Even allowing for the vast quantity of great Southern soul that was around at the time, it beggars belief that Rick Hall was unable to find takers for so many great performances – many of them proving to be more than a match for any of FAME’s readily acknowledged classics.

Many of FAME’s major players get a look-in on our series debut. Numerous of the songs will be familiar to collectors in recordings by others who plied their trade at the studio, but the versions here are mostly previously unheard by anyone other than those who participated in the sessions.

The CD abounds with highlights. I’d like to give an especially big hand for Ralph “Soul” Jackson’s fantastic take on Jimmy Hughes’ ‘You Really Know How To Hurt A Guy’ and for Jimmy’s own riveting version of Etta James’ ‘I Worship The Ground You Walk On’. I’d also like to commend June Conquest’s Motown-style rendition of Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham’s ‘I Do’ and Prince Phillip Mitchell’s chunky remake of James Barnett’s ‘Keep On Talking’ – one of only three tracks on here to have been previously issued in any format. But really I can recommend literally everything on a CD for which the phrase “all killer, no filler” could have been coined.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview You're So Fine - James Barnett

  • 02 Preview I Worship The Ground You Walk On - Jimmy Hughes

  • 03 Preview I Do - June Conquest

  • 04 Preview Blind Can't See - Richard Earl & The Corvettes

  • 05 Preview Tell It Like It Is - Big Ben Atkins

  • 06 Preview Almost Persuaded - Jackie

  • 07 Preview When It Comes To Dancing - Joe Simon

  • 08 Preview It Ain't No Harm - George Byrd & The Dominoes

  • 09 Preview Keep On Talking - Prince Phillip

  • 10 Preview I Need Someone (Demo) - The Entertainers

  • 11 Preview Hand Shakin' - Ben & Spence

  • 12 Preview Meet Me Tonight - James Gilreath

  • 13 Preview Tell Daddy (Demo) - Clarence Carter

  • 14 Preview You Really Know How To Hurt A Guy - Ralph "Soul" Jackson

  • 15 Preview Steal Away '67 Part 1 - Jimmy Hughes

  • 16 Preview I'm Qualified - Otis Clay

  • 17 Preview In The Heat Of Love - Marjorie Ingram

  • 18 Preview Love Changes A Man - Unknown

  • 19 Preview Too Weak To Fight (Demo) - Clarence Carter

  • 20 Preview Your Helping Hand (Demo) - Otis Clay

  • 21 Preview Two Big Legs And A Short Red Dress - O B McClinton

  • 22 Preview Baby Come Back - Bobby Moore & The Rhythm Aces

  • 23 Preview Let's Do it Over - Travis Wammack

  • 24 Preview For You (Home Demo) - George Jackson

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought