Hall Of Fame Volume 2: More Rare & Unissued Gems From The FAME Vaults Various Artists (Fame)


Southern Soul
Catalogue Id:

FAME recording studio has always played second fiddle to Stax studios in the annals of Southern soul. Now, thanks in no small part to Kent’s extensive reissue programme of Fame recorded material, many Southern soul fans would rightly put these two studios side by side in the story of Southern soul.

“Hall Of Fame” series concentrates on the wealth of rare and unissued recordings still in the vaults. Volume 2, which contains five unknown artists and 21 previously unissued tracks, certainly fits the criteria.

The overall standard of both singing and material on here is staggeringly high, not least the unknown artists. The CD opens with the heart-breaking ballad ‘Another Good Woman Gone Bad’ superbly sung by a female artist who seems to have disappeared after recording this gem. Best of the male unknown artists gives us a strutting ‘Got To Get Over’ sung with real Southern grit by a singer whose identity remains a mystery despite Ace’s best efforts.

If you’re reluctant to invest in a CD of unknowns then rest assured that there are enough Southern soul stalwarts present to assuage that fear. Clarence Carter wades in with two solid country soul outings, Joe Simon contribute a fine finger-popping dancer while both George Jackson and Prince Phillip (Mitchell) show once again that their singing careers were sadly neglected in favour of their undoubted song-writing abilities. Of the lesser-known singers, James Barnett stands out with a superb take on the Percy Sledge deep soul classic ‘It Tears Me Up’ while Marjorie Ingram’s ominous ‘I’m Gonna Start Checking Up On My Man’ would surely have been a Southern soul hit if it had been released at the time.

Just three of the 24 tracks on this CD saw vinyl release back in the day. Billy Young, a personal favourite, is in Otis Redding territory with the anguished ‘Have Pity On Me’ which came out on the Chess label. The gravel gargling Ralph “Soul” Jackson lives up to his moniker on ‘Don’t Tear Yourself Down’, a terrific dance floor filler which was picked up by the Amy label. And last but not least, the wonderful Otis Clay delivers the goods as usual on another high quality mover, ‘That Kind Of Lovin’ issued on Cotillion, an Atlantic subsidiary.

By Martin Goggin


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Another Good Woman Gone Bad - Unknown Female

  • 02 Preview It Tears Me Up - James Barnett

  • 03 Preview Long Ago - Ben & Spence

  • 04 Preview Don't Let It Be Said - June Conquest

  • 05 Preview Take Me Back - George Jackson

  • 06 Preview Don't Count Me Out - Unknown Male

  • 07 Preview I Can't Stop (No No No) - Big Ben Atkins

  • 08 Preview Have Pity On Me - Billy Young

  • 09 Preview I Smell A Rat - George Jackson

  • 10 Preview Don't Tear Yourself Down - Ralph "Soul" Jackson

  • 11 Preview Are You Teasing Me - Linda Carr

  • 12 Preview No One Left to Come Home To - Ben & Spence

  • 13 Preview Fool For A Woman - Prince Phillip

  • 14 Preview Got To Get Over - Unknown Male

  • 15 Preview Take It All Off - Clarence Carter

  • 16 Preview I'm Gonna Start Checking Up On My Man - Marjorie Ingram

  • 17 Preview How Much More Can A Poor Man Stand - Prince Phillip

  • 18 Preview My Dreams Don't Ever Come True - Unknown Female

  • 19 Preview Midnight Affair - George Soulé

  • 20 Preview That Kind Of Lovin' - Otis Clay

  • 21 Preview They're Gonna Find Us (At The Dark End Of The Street) - Clarence Carter

  • 22 Preview You Can't Miss What You Can't Measure - O B McClinton

  • 23 Preview Get In A Hurry - Joe Simon

  • 24 Preview Unfortunately - Jackie

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought