Good Vibrations: A Record Shop, A Label, A Film Soundtrack Various Artists (Soundtracks)


Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

The film Good Vibrations was released late last year to great acclaim, with luminaries such as Roger Daltrey and Bono raving about its excellence. The story follows the turbulent life of record collector, DJ, record shop owner, record label founder and dance promoter Terri Hooley from his childhood to the present day. A true rollercoaster ride with rarely a dull minute, portrayed brilliantly in this cult film. The soundtrack has been woven together by film score composer David Holmes, who grew up listening to our releases, and Terri Hooley himself, whose love of vintage music is the cornerstone of the story.

With musical tastes formed in the 60s and 70s, Terri has chosen some wonderful music to portray his early years. The beauty of ‘Angie’, Bert Jansch’s folk guitar masterpiece, the haunting, sexually charged vocals of the Shangri-Las and the primitive clarity of Hank Williams’ ‘I Saw The Light’ show what an eclectic fellow Terri always was. ‘Outcast’ by the Animals gives a hint of the tougher side of the music eventually leading to Terri’s success and (coincidentally, or possibly not) was also the name of one of his label’s punk bands a dozen years later.

The story of how a scruffy bunch of Londonderry teenagers got their demo to Terri and virtually forced him to record it is one of the film’s highlights. The established record business and a hierarchical society fought against them but boundless energy, belief and desperate measures got a copy of the Undertones ‘Teenage Kicks’ to London-based DJ John Peel who made sure it did not remain an undiscovered gem.

Exciting music of the time from the Saints, Stiff Little Fingers, Niney The Observer and Suicide sit well with the earlier influences of psychedelia from Ramases & Seleka and the rocksteady sound of the Upsetters. Thrown into the imaginative mix are some unclassifiable musical creations from Michael Yonkers, Jason Falkner and the Langley Schools Music Project and of course the label’s top bands Rudi and those Outcasts are well represented. Stand-alone pieces from the film’s soundtrack are included on this musical celebration of a heady era.

Terri provided his own idiosyncratic notes for the booklet and needless to say he was tickled pink to have the great David Bowie singing for him on his CD: ever the fan.

By Ady Croasdell 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Saw The Light - Hank Williams

  • 02 Preview Blood And Fire - Niney (The Observers)

  • 03 Preview Past, Present And Future - The Shangri-Las

  • 04 Preview Outcast - The Animals

  • 05 Preview Freedom Train - The Upsetters

  • 06 Preview You're A Disease - The Outcasts

  • 07 Preview Angie - Bert Jansch

  • 08 Preview Big Time - Rudi

  • 09 Preview Pear Shaped - Woody Jackson

  • 10 Preview This Perfect Day - The Saints

  • 11 Preview Gotta Gettaway - Stiff Little Fingers

  • 12 Preview Don't Wait Until Tomorrow - Michael Yonkers

  • 13 Preview Love You - Ramases & Seleka

  • 14 Preview Teenage Kicks - The Undertones

  • 15 Preview Dream Baby Dream - Suicide

  • 16 Preview The Pressure's On - Rudi

  • 17 Preview I Can Never Go Home Anymore - The Shangri-Las

  • 18 Preview To Know Him Is To Love Him - The Langley Schools Music Project

  • 19 Preview Alternative Ulster - Stiff Little Fingers

  • 20 Preview The Perfect Crime - Jason Falkner

  • 21 Preview Just Another Teenage Rebel - The Outcasts

  • 22 Preview Laugh At Me - Holmes Ensemble aka Whole Ensemble

  • 23 Preview Star - David Bowie

  • 24 Preview Self Conscious Over You - The Outcasts

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A vibrant compilation. ★★★★

Record Collector


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought