Dave Hamilton's Detroit Soul Various Artists (Dave Hamilton)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Dave Hamilton's Detroit Soul (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Dave Hamilton’s Detroit tape cache reveals hitherto unknown soul dimensions to the great producer’s work.

Uptown yet edgy Motown soundalikes, blues with a beat, sweet soul harmonies, jazz grooves, drug-influenced funk and uplifting gospel – these are just a few of the categories in store on “Dave Hamilton’s Detroit Soul”. A career of over 50 years in one of the hotbeds of black music meant that Dave could sway with the musical punches and counter as well as any. The sides here span 20 creative years, all of them of interest to soul devotees who are intrigued by how the music flourished and developed. After three volumes of “Detroit Dancers”, we felt “Detroit Soul” to be a more apt title this time, although there are plenty of dancers on here too.

Starting with Dave’s first label, Temple, we have early examples of the emerging soul sound from his daughter Charmaine with the plaintive ‘Don’t You Listen’ and the bluesy ‘Won’t You Come On Home’ by Harry Reid. Frenchy & the Chessmen get an organ groove going, but I don’t think it shook up Booker T too much. Moving on to his most famous imprint, Topper, we have the logo’s final two soul recordings to be digitalised, which involve Priscilla Page solo and as half of a duo with Rony Darrell, Dave’s then partner. We then investigate later labels Da Da, Demoristic, TCB and New Day, all of which had gems of soul dotted among them.

Three ballads are featured: the churchy, southern style ‘Look Up And Smile’ from Gene Cooper, nightclub jazz in the shape of ‘Missing You’ from Sue Ann Jones and ‘All Because Of You’, high quality male harmony soul from the unknown Moderations. The latter is one of four numbers that have been discovered and mixed from multi-track tape. ‘I Don’t Play Games’ by male vocal quartet Nightchill is commercial enough to have charted if only they’d have pressed it up, and the female led New Experience’s ‘Here I Am (Come And Take Me)’ will also thrill modern soul fans. Romeo & Juliet get it on a la Roberta Flack and Donny Hathaway on ‘You Got What It Takes’. Funk is touched on in the form of Billy Garner’s raucous ‘You’re Wasting My Time’.

A track that will excite traditional 60s soul fans is Ortheia Barnes’ performance on Dave Hamilton and Joe Hunter’s mid-tempo ‘Never Ever Leave Me’, originally destined for the Mickays label. J.T. Rhythm’s Palmer 45 on CD for the first time and Bobby Dee’s ‘Sweet Thing’ is grabbed from the clutches of BGP to reclaim a real soul dancer for the silver sliders. Any lover of black music will dig Dave Hamilton’s harmonica-led ‘Take Care Of Your Own Business’, while bluesman Chicago Pete’s ‘I’m Begging You’ grooves and grooves and grooves. O.C. Tolbert devotees are treated to ‘Too Late’, which was discovered too late to include on his recent solo CD. Chico & Buddy cover the narcotics side of the business, while the Webb People sound a little as if they’ve been investigating that area themselves.

This is wonderful music from a revered musician who attracted great talent and knew his business well enough to leave a major body of work for his followers so many years on.

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview You Got Me Turned Around (Instrumental) - The Dave Hamilton Band

  • 02 Preview Take Care Of Your Own Business - Dave Hamilton

  • 03 Preview Sweet Thing Part 1 - Bobby Dee

  • 04 Preview I'm Pretending - Priscilla Page

  • 05 Preview Never Ever Leave Me - Ortheia Barnes

  • 06 Preview My Sweet Baby - J.T. Rhythm

  • 07 Preview I'm Begging You - Chicago Pete

  • 08 Preview All Because Of You - The Moderations

  • 09 Preview I Don't Play Games - Nightchill

  • 10 Preview Here I Am (Come And Take Me) - The New Experience

  • 11 Preview You Got What It Takes - Romeo & Juliet

  • 12 Preview Soul Suite - Dave Hamilton

  • 13 Preview You're Wasting My Time Part 1 - Billy Garner

  • 14 Preview A Thing Called The Jones - Chico & Buddy

  • 15 Preview I'm Sending Vibrations - The Webb People

  • 16 Preview Too Late - O.C. Tolbert

  • 17 Preview The Pride Of A Man - Emanuel Taylor

  • 18 Preview You Gotta Show Me - Billy Soul

  • 19 Preview Look Up And Smile - Gene Cooper

  • 20 Preview Beetle Bebop - Frenchy & The Chessmen

  • 21 Preview Won't You Come On Home - Harry Reid

  • 22 Preview Don't You Listen - Charmaine

  • 23 Preview Shoo Be Doo Be (Now That You're Gone) - Priscilla Page & Rony Darrell

  • 24 Preview Missing You - Sue Ann Jones

  • 25 Preview TCB Recording Studios jingle - TCB Studio House Band

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought