Dave Hamilton's Detroit Dancers Vol 2 Various Artists (Dave Hamilton)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Dave Hamilton's Detroit Dancers Vol 2 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

It really is hard to believe that Volume One hit the streets in the March of last year. Since then Ady Croasdell has spent countless hours trawling through tape boxes, unearthing more gems from the streets of Detroit, to satisfy our craving for all things soulful.

This latest release in The Soul Providers series is another aural delight and further demonstrates what a gifted soul Dave Hamilton was. As you'd expect, all tastes are catered for on this well-executed compilation that I've been listening to almost continuously since my review copy arrived.

Dave's extensive collection of tapes has revealed some fascinating previously unissued recordings and the news that there are enough for a third volume is good news indeed.

So what are the highlights here... well to be honest there are so many it is truly difficult to know where to begin. For the die-hard 60s fans, whose preference is the northern groove, we have current in-demanders from Tobi Lark, Dottie & Millie, JT Rhythm and the swarthy James Lately. If that wasn't enough we also have the track, proclaimed by many, as the best discovery to hit the dance-floors this decade-.-Who Are You Trying To Fool has already become a rare soul anthem and Little Ann's stunning performance of this at the 6Ts Cleethorpes' Weekender left many of us in a state of shock.

OC Tolbert cut numerous sides for Dave, four of which are featured here, and it would be unjust not to acknowledge what a talent this guy had. A committed vocal was his trade-mark, only too evident on the breath-taking Give It To Glory-.-the combination of gospel inspired lyrics, a crossover rhythm and pure raw emotion will almost certainly see this become the left-field 'hit' of the CD. Utter brilliance.

For Hamilton traditionalists there are the obligatory instrumental tracks with Ain't That Groovy sounding so Hitsville it wouldn't come as any suprise to discover the Funk Brothers had dropped by intending to shoot some pool but were press-ganged into working. In addition there are cool male harmony group performances from the Barrino Brothers, Tokays and Additions, foxy solo femmes like Jackie Dee and Sue Ann Jones and neat solo males in the form of Danny Cobus and Gil Billingsley. For those of you sensible enough to buy Volume One don't even hesitate over this release...if anything it's better and that really is saying something.

By Andy Rix


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Spoken Intro To 'The Two Of Us' - Danny Cobus

  • 02 Preview The Two Of Us - Danny Cobus

  • 03 Preview Who Are You Trying To Fool - Little Ann

  • 04 Preview You Got Me Turned Around - O.C. Tolbert

  • 05 Preview Challenge My Love - Tobi Lark

  • 06 Preview I'll Give You My Love - Sue Ann Jones

  • 07 Preview We're In Love - The Additions

  • 08 Preview Ain't That Groovy - The Dave Hamilton Band

  • 09 Preview Falling In Love - The Tokays

  • 10 Preview Talkin' About My Baby - Dottie & Millie

  • 11 Preview My Sweet Baby - The Mark-Keys

  • 12 Preview I'm Going Back Home - J.T. Rhythm

  • 13 Preview I'm Me Just Me - Gil Billingsley

  • 14 Preview Tammie - Richard Coombs

  • 15 Preview That's Enough - O.C. Tolbert

  • 16 Preview Just A Mistake - The Barrino Brothers

  • 17 Preview One Way Street - Little Ann

  • 18 Preview Pisces Pace - Dave Hamilton

  • 19 Preview Who - Jackie Dee

  • 20 Preview The Smile On Your Face - Little Ann

  • 21 Preview Give It To Glory - O.C. Tolbert

  • 22 Preview All I Want Is You - J.T. Rhythm

  • 23 Preview No One Can Take The Place Of You - The Ravins

  • 24 Preview Tears Running And Falling From My Eyes - James Lately

  • 25 Preview That's All She Wrote - O.C. Tolbert

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought