Saint Etienne Present Songs For The Fountain Coffee Room Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


70s Rock
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1575

The latest in the popular “Saint Etienne Present” series – soundtracks for places both real and imaginary. This time, Sarah Cracknell, Bob Stanley and Pete Wiggs have put together a selection to fit a bar in mid-70s Los Angeles, the kind of place where Warren Beatty and Julie Christie might meet in the afternoon for a secret rendezvous between shooting scenes for Shampoo. 

There’s a high quotient of airy, top-down soul, FM yacht rock, and an even larger amount of blue-eyed soul, with the odd singer-songwriter from Laurel Canyon making an appearance. Familiar summer sounds come from Todd Rundgren (‘Love Is The Answer’), Millie Jackson (‘A House For Sale’) and Seals & Crofts (‘Get Closer’). Among the discoveries are Daryl Hall & John Oates’ deep cut ‘Lilly (Are You Happy)’; Bill Quateman’s irresistible acoustic guitar and string-powered ‘Only Love’; Marvin Gaye’s gorgeous ‘Where Are We Going?’, from the period between “What’s Going On” and “Let’s Get It On”; and the £100 crossover soul gem ‘One Way Or The Other’ by the Fifth Avenue Band. These gems are the kind of thing Netflix will be tripping over themselves to use next season.

Amid the potted palms, the pace is strictly mid-tempo. The windows are wide open, the sky is a clear blue, and this is the perfect summer soundtrack. Warren’s drinking a Tom Collins, Julie’s having a Sloe Gin Fizz (she’s too English to ask for a Slow Screw). Amid the potted palms, the pace is strictly mid-tempo; it’s too warm for anything faster. It’s the right place and the right time to take your time.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Only Love - Bill Quateman

  • 02 Preview Where Are We Going? - Marvin Gaye

  • 03 Preview Get Closer - Seals & Crofts

  • 04 Preview Tell Her She's Lovely - Batteaux

  • 05 Preview One Way Or The Other - The Fifth Avenue Band

  • 06 Preview Lilly (Are You Happy) - Daryl Hall & John Oates

  • 07 Preview Love Is The Answer - Utopia

  • 08 Preview Oh Honey - Delegation

  • 09 Preview Easy To Love - Leo Sayer

  • 10 Preview A House For Sale (Single version) - Millie Jackson

  • 11 Preview Tin Man - John Edwards

  • 12 Preview Thunder In The Afternoon - Bobbie Gentry

  • 13 Preview Save It For A Rainy Day - Stephen Bishop

  • 14 Preview Love Don't Come No Stronger (Than Yours And Mine) - Jeff Perry

  • 15 Preview Hollywood - Boz Scaggs

  • 16 Preview A Love Of Your Own (Album version) - Ned Doheny

  • 17 Preview Natural High (Single version) - Bloodstone

  • 18 Preview Hickory - Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons

  • 19 Preview Touch Me Baby (Reaching Out For Your Love) - Tamiko Jones

  • 20 Preview Sunshower - Dr Buzzard's Original Savannah Band

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought