Chess Uptown Soul Various Artists (Chess)


Catalogue Id:

Also Chicago-based, the Chess group of labels included at various times Aristocrat, Argo and Cadet. Phil and Len Chess built up their label on the success of their roster of hard-hitting blues artists like Muddy Waters, Little Walter and Sonny Boy Williamson, but they dabbled in many forms of music including soul. Kent Records' other release this month, Chess Uptown Soul, explores their 60s soul output. However, as the astute among you will have gathered from its title, this isn't an album of stompin' dance toons: no Landslide or In Orbit here. As compiler Ady Croasdell (What him again? Does this man ever sleep?) puts it, "Think sophisticated. Think subtle. Think Slick".

After the exhilarating Saturday night soul of the OKeh set, here's a 24-tracker ideal for a Sunday morning: snuggle down in your armchair, attempt to do the Telegraph crossword and let the soul waves lap comfortably against your feet. Sophisticated? Yes indeedy, check out Marlena Shaw's jazz-tinged slant on Go Away Little Boy. Subtle? Absolutely: Marvel at Spooner's Crowd as they wittily create a sound picture of a whole evening at a hip club in the 2 minutes and 9 seconds of Two In The Morning. Slick? Sho'nuff-.-gasp at The Radiants' inch-perfect harmonies on Ain't No Big Thing. This uptown festival includes such soul beats as Jan Bradley's charmingly naive Mama Didn't Lie, Etta James' assertive Pushover, the Knight Brothers' gospel-flavoured Temptation Bout To Get Me and Mitty Collier's affecting I Had A Talk With My Man. There's a touch of the blues from Johnny Nash and a touch of jazz from Ramsey Lewis. It all adds up to a soul-satisfying Sunday morning's listening. But wait: Jackie Ross' Jerk And Twine, one of the first batch of releases on the UK Chess label back in '65, has an irresistible finger snapping beat, and she's going on about good timing hips are rocking...the build-up to next Saturday night starts here! (Mike Atherton. Mike is a regular contributor to Echoes, Blues & Rhythm and Record Collector magazines)


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The Entertainer - T Clarke

  • 02 Preview Love Ain't Nothin' - Johnny Nash

  • 03 Preview Jerk And Twine - Jackie Ross

  • 04 Preview Oh What A Feeling - James Phelps

  • 05 Preview It Ain't No Big Thing - The Radiants

  • 06 Preview Sitting In The Park - Billy Stewart

  • 07 Preview Temptation 'Bout To Get Me - The Knight Brothers

  • 08 Preview Everything To Me - Donnie Elbert

  • 09 Preview Nothing But You - The Chessmen

  • 10 Preview I Won't Need You - Gene Chandler

  • 11 Preview Wear It On Our Face - The Dells

  • 12 Preview Do You Wanta Go - Andy Mack

  • 13 Preview Pushover - Etta James

  • 14 Preview Believe In Me - Little Milton

  • 15 Preview Searching For My Love - Bobby Moore & The Rhythm Aces

  • 16 Preview I Had A Talk With My Man - Mitty Collier

  • 17 Preview I Believe She Will - Eddie & Ernie

  • 18 Preview So Much Love - Maurice & Mac

  • 19 Preview Hurt So Bad - Ramsey Lewis

  • 20 Preview Here You Come Running - Sugar Pie DeSanto

  • 21 Preview Mama Didn't Lie - Jan Bradley

  • 22 Preview Go Away Little Boy - Marlena Shaw

  • 23 Preview The Soul Of A Man - Fontella Bass

  • 24 Preview Two In The Morning - Spooner's Crowd

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Subtle, slick and sophisticated.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought