The Doré Story: Postcards From Los Angeles 1958-64 Various Artists (Dore)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1293

This product is also available in these versions:
The Doré Story: Postcards From Los Angeles 1958-64 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)
Dore Records Hollywood T Shirt, TS (£18.00)

A one-man operation run at street level for more than two decades, Hollywood’s Doré label launched the careers of Phil Spector and Jan & Dean in the late 1950s and built upon these early triumphs with an extensive catalogue of pop, rock and soul 45s during the 60s before branching successfully into comedy in the early 1970s.

The story of Doré records is inextricably linked with that of its owner, Lew Bedell, who entered the music business in 1955 having worked as a minor professional entertainer in the preceding years. Pop music was different back then and never more so than in California, where Hollywood’s dominance of the entertainment scene meant that Los Angeles was scarcely aware of its music industry until hotshot producers such as Phil Spector, Brian Wilson, Snuff Garrett and Lou Adler finally put the town on the recording map in the mid-1960s.

Individualists such as Bedell were usually referred to as “characters” or as being “larger than life”, suggesting they were caricatures of some sort, but Bedell, for all his eccentricities, was somehow too pragmatic a man to fit that description.

Doré began as a subsidiary of Era, a Hollywood label best known for mainstream pop hits such as ‘Chanson D’Amour’ and ‘The Wayward Wind’. Bedell had founded Era with his cousin Herb Newman before breaking away to run Doré alone. In 1958, it got off to a flying start with ‘To Know Him Is To Love Him’ by the Teddy Bears, a worldwide hit, followed a few months later by Jan & Dean’s ‘Baby Talk’. The major labels had lost touch with the street and it was largely left to LA’s scattering of independents to set teenagers’ turntables spinning on the West Coast.

It was the age of the walk-in deal on LA’s so-called record row, an area of Hollywood populated by small labels wheeling and dealing from storefronts or backrooms. Some went in the blink of an eye but Doré stayed, moving seamlessly from rock and pop into soul music in the mid-60s. In this climate of spontaneous deal-making and low recording costs, Bedell was regularly approached by would-be’s and wanna-be’s, some of whom may have had something on the ball. Herb Alpert, Shel Talmy and Mike Curb were just a few who brought their first productions to Doré and there are some interesting connections: aside from Spector and Jan & Dean, the Walker Brothers and Vince Taylor all come into the story.

25 of the 28 tunes on this first volume of “The Doré Story” appear on legitimate CD for the first time, all taken from the original masters, including previously unissued rockabilly from cult figure Joel Scott Hill, two ultra-rare rock instrumentals by Bobby Fry, the guitarist Vince Taylor brought over with him from America in 1958. There’s exquisite doo wop, some featuring that cherished East LA “Barrio” sound, early teen rock from John Maus of the Walker Brothers and a rare instro featuring Scott Walker himself. Doré is becoming a collected label. Many of the original Doré 45s are now beginning to fetch quite big money, helped by the aura of mystique that surrounds the label and its distinctive logo.

The generously proportioned, specially designed package includes a 18,000-word newly researched profile of Doré and Lew Bedell, artist biographies and many never-before seen photographs and illustrations. “The Doré Story” is an engaging snapshot of that moment in time before lawyers and accounts took over the music biz and things were simpler and probably more fun.

By Rob Finnis


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Let's Split - Bobby Fry

  • 02 Preview Marathon Rock - Joel Hill & the Rebels

  • 03 Preview Baby Talk - Jan & Dean

  • 04 Preview Look For A Star - Deane Hawley

  • 05 Preview Ring-A-Ding-Ding - The Tides

  • 06 Preview True Deep Love - The Premiers

  • 07 Preview Stompin' Sh-Boom - The Dories

  • 08 Preview Every Once In A While - The Debonaires

  • 09 Preview X-2 - Bobby Fry

  • 10 Preview Doin' Time - Ronnie Cook & the Diamonds

  • 11 Preview Someday - Cam Morris with Don Coats' Crusaders

  • 12 Preview My Baby Done Me Wrong - Kid Guitar Thompson & the Scooters

  • 13 Preview Baby Baby All The Time - The Superbs

  • 14 Preview Too Far To Turn Around - The Creators

  • 15 Preview Lovin' Daddy - Chuck Miles & the Styles

  • 16 Preview Shake It, Shake It - Larry Harmon

  • 17 Preview Hey Lady - The Entertainers IV

  • 18 Preview Hideout - John & Judy

  • 19 Preview Rumble At Newport Beach - Mike Gordon & the Agates

  • 20 Preview Baby Doll - Billy Saint

  • 21 Preview Percolator - Billy Joe & the Checkmates

  • 22 Preview A Casual Look - Chris Darlin

  • 23 Preview After School Rock - The Baritones

  • 24 Preview Last Year About This Time - The Symbols

  • 25 Preview To Know Him Is To Love Him - The Darlings

  • 26 Preview There's Something On Your Mind - Little Ray

  • 27 Preview Showdown - Tony Casanova

  • 28 Preview I Love You, I Do - Freddie Willis

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought