Toast Of The Coast: 1950s R&B From Dolphin's Of Hollywood Volume 2 Various Artists (Dolphin)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1215

This product is also available in these versions:
Toast Of The Coast: 1950s R&B From Dolphin's Of Hollywood Volume 2 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

We’re often asked why we don’t put out as many R&B compilations as we used to. In part, our extensive release schedule in the past has meant that, while the well is still by no means dry, it’s not as full as it used to be. Additionally, demand has dwindled a little, as its audience gets older and less interested in ownership of CDs. Also, the relentless onslaught of lesser quality “out of copyright” issues has eaten away at the core market for R&B and given a false perspective on the true worth of material that’s being, for want of a better term, legally bootlegged. 

We still love R&B, and we will continue to support it as long as people keep calling for it. This month, we’re delighted to bring you another volume in our series of CDs devoted to the labels of the late John Grattan Dolphin.

Our previous Dolphin compilation highlighted repertoire that Lovin’ John had recorded for release on his first label, Recorded In Hollywood. This time, the repertoire is largely drawn from the stack of tapes that Dolphin produced or bought with the intention of issuing them on his later labels, Money and Cash. With one exception, all tracks come from original mastertapes that Ace acquired from Dolphin’s widow, Ruth, some years ago.

Dolphin’s scattergun approach to running his labels meant that he would be recording and releasing high profile acts like Memphis Slim, Pee Wee Crayton, Joe Houston and Jimmy Witherspoon one day, and extremely obscure ones like Vernon Anders and Al Calloway the next. For every two sides that he issued, he left two in the can. Indeed, some singers heard here, such as Ervin “Big Boy” Groves’ protégée Little Margie, recorded many sides over several sessions without so much as one finding its way onto the market.

He may not have released everything he cut, but Dolphin held onto the majority of his reels of tape. Because of this, Ace can bring you another helping of quality R&B, in the direct-from-the-studio-floor quality. (There’s plenty more where this comes from. Even as you’re reading these words, another volume is being planned for release in early 2010). As we are wont to do on these occasions, we’ve enlisted the help of top notch west coast researcher-annotator Jim Dawson to tell the story behind the songs and artists - and as ever, Jim’s left no stone unturned in his quest to uncover new facts about the most terminally obscure names on this set.

Half a century may have passed since John Dolphin really was the Toast Of the Coast, but his musical legacy has outlived him. Thanks to our being able to bring you compilations such as this one, it will continue to do so for many years to come.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Pot Holder - Porkey Harris & The Sophisti-cats

  • 02 Preview Lovin' John (Take 2) - Vernon Anders with Monroe Tucker

  • 03 Preview Treat Me Like I Treat You - Memphis Slim

  • 04 Preview Another Ticket (Demo - Take 1) - Big Boy Groves & Little Margie

  • 05 Preview Yes I Know (Take 2) - Linda Hayes

  • 06 Preview Boogie Bop (Take 1) - Pee Wee Crayton

  • 07 Preview Big Family Blues (Take 1) - Jimmy Witherspoon & Unknown Female

  • 08 Preview You Said You Had A Woman - Geneva Vallier

  • 09 Preview Ride Lone Stranger, Ride (Take 3) - Sonny Harper

  • 10 Preview Uncle John - Al Calloway

  • 11 Preview Years And Tears Ago (Take 2) - Big Boy Groves & Little Margie

  • 12 Preview Hound Dog And Alley Cat - Vernon Anders

  • 13 Preview I'm A Humdinger - Vernon Anders

  • 14 Preview Pretty Daddy (Take 1) - Lois Butler with The Joe Houston Band

  • 15 Preview Let's Ball All Night Long (Track 3, take 2 overdub) - Unknown male

  • 16 Preview Cadillac Funeral - Peppermint Harris

  • 17 Preview Call Me A Hound Dog - Juanita Moore & The Eugene Jackson Trio

  • 18 Preview Watch Your Best Friend (Take 3) - Tap Anthony & His All Star Band

  • 19 Preview Yes It's You - Big Boy Groves & Little Margie

  • 20 Preview Uh-Huh - Big Boy Groves

  • 21 Preview Jivin' Around (Female vocal version - Take 6) - Ernie Freeman Combo with Sherry Washington

  • 22 Preview Treat Me Like I Treat You - Peppermint Harris

  • 23 Preview A Little Bit Of You - Big Boy Groves & Little Eve

  • 24 Preview Hollywood Hop - Porkey Harris & The Sophisti-cats

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought