This Is Louisiana Various Artists (States & Regions)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Singer Ernie K-Doe once declared, "I'm not sure, but I'm almost positive, that all music came from New Orleans". While K-Doe's claim might be viewed as a bold exaggeration, had he included the rest of the state of Louisiana in his proclamation, he would actually be pretty close to the truth.

Certainly there is no other geographical area in the world that has served as the origin for as many styles of music than Louisiana has in the last century. First there was jazz, a sound that could only have developed in a port city as exotic and multi-ethnic as New Orleans. Later the city served as an incubator for rhythm and blues, a style which married Dixieland jazz and the barrelhouse blues piano tradition. R&B would then metamorphose into rock'n'roll, and New Orleans has the oldest, richest and most influential tradition the genre has ever had. Fats Domino, Professor Longhair, Little Richard, Allen Toussaint, Roy Brown, Lloyd Price, Huey Smith, Lee Dorsey, Ernie K-Doe. Need we say more?

R&B would amalgamate with brass band music and create funk, and there is no funkier city on the face of the earth than New Orleans. Southwest Louisiana was no less musically creative, as it was birthplace of Cajun, zydeco and swamp pop music. The northern section of the state was also an important centre for country and rockabilly music.

While no single CD collection could possibly encompass all of the important indigenous music of Louisiana, This Is Louisiana is as comprehensive as an 18 track CD could possibly hope to be. Containing all of the important musical styles of Louisiana, it is in many ways a musical tour of the state, and an enjoyable one at that.

Our first stop is appropriately New Orleans, where it all began. This collection includes perhaps the finest example of New Orleans rock'n'roll ever made - Frankie Ford's fabulous 1959 hit Sea Cruise. The composer was the brilliant Huey "Piano" Smith who, along with his group the Clowns, also contribute the memorable, Don't You Just Know It.

Heading west from New Orleans on Interstate 10, after passing through the state capitol of Baton Rouge and crossing the Atchafalaya River Basin, you've entered Acadiana - Cajun country. This Is Louisiana includes several tracks by the major architects of Cajun music including Jimmy Newman's version of the timeless classic Jolie Blonde, a song many Louisianians consider their national anthem.

No less creative, the Creole people that live in Southwest Louisiana combined traditional French music with rhythm and blues and came up with their own accordion-led dance music - zydeco. The word zydeco is Creole slang for les haricots (snap beans), and it was used in the old Creole song Les Haricots Sont Pas Sale (The Snap Beans Aren't Salty). This collection includes the most popular zydeco song of all time, My Toot Toot by Rockin' Sidney, an often covered international hit from 1984.

Perhaps the most overlooked style of indigenous Louisiana music is Swamp Pop, which was aptly described by one musician as, "Half (Fats) Domino, half fais do-do". In layman's terms, swamp pop is a mixture of New Orleans R&B, Cajun music and country, with its main influence the great Fats Domino. This Is Louisiana contains several of the leading swamp pop artists including Cookie and The Cupcakes's version of Mathilda, the virtual blueprint for Louisiana swamp pop.

Louisiana's contribution to popular music represents the irrepressible vitality and the bond of ethnocentricity of the area. This Is Louisiana is more than just a collection of the state's great music, it's a testament to tradition.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The Promised Land - Johnnie Allan

  • 02 Preview Sea Cruise - Frankie Ford

  • 03 Preview Pine Grove Blues - Nathan Abshire & his Pine Grove Boys

  • 04 Preview Lache Pas La Patate - Jimmy 'C' Newman

  • 05 Preview Sugar Bee - Cleveland Crochet and Band

  • 06 Preview Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye - Danny White

  • 07 Preview Recorded In England - Rod Bernard

  • 08 Preview Another Sleepless Night - Belton Richard

  • 09 Preview Don't You Just Know It - Huey "Piano" Smith & the Clowns

  • 10 Preview Mathilda - Cookie & his Cupcakes

  • 11 Preview Equand J'Etais Pauvre - Dewey Balfa And Friends

  • 12 Preview Jolie Blonde - Jimmy 'C' Newman

  • 13 Preview My Toot Toot - Rockin' Sidney

  • 14 Preview Reconsider Me - Margaret Lewis

  • 15 Preview French Rocking Boogie - Shirley Bergeron Alphee Berger

  • 16 Preview La Valse De Grand Bois - The Balfa Brothers

  • 17 Preview Boogie In The Mud - Danny James

  • 18 Preview Mojo Hannah - Tami Lynn

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Almost too good to be true...without equal as a truly representative New Orleans compilation.

Now Dig This

A very well chosen and handsomely presented CD, if by some bizarre freak of nature you are not familiar with this music this is your chance to get educated and entertained at the same time. Go on, give it a try. You can't lose.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought