This Is Goldwax Various Artists (Goldwax)


Southern Soul
Catalogue Id:

For the latest of the This Is series’ label spotlights – following our acclaimed looks at Flying Dutchman and Fame – we focus on Goldwax as it celebrates its 60th birthday, and feature the cream of the recordings made during its short existence. This throws the spotlight not only on James Carr, but vital label mate Spencer Wiggins and also the beautiful harmonies of the Ovations. These three acts were the mainstays of Goldwax, and alongside the song writing talents of George Jackson and Dan Greer, show why the label’s influence is still important today.

There are gems strewn throughout the catalogue, from the earliest recordings of ‘Why Can’t We Live Together’ hitmaker Timmy Thomas, through rarely-recorded artists such as Philip & the Faithfuls.

This two LP set also demonstrates how strong the Memphis club and studio scene was at the time with recordings of Willie Walker, Percy Millem, Barbara Perry, Gene ‘Bowlegs’ Miller and others who recorded sparsely but were popular live performers.

“This Goldwax” comes in a wide spine sleeve, with fully illustrated and annotated inner sleeves.

A perfect introduction to the label as it enters its seventh decade.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The Dark End Of The Street - James Carr

  • 02 Preview Uptight Good Woman - Spencer Wiggins

  • 03 Preview To Me It's Storming - George & Greer

  • 04 Preview Call On Me - Percy Milem

  • 05 Preview I'm Living Good - The Ovations featuring Louis Williams

  • 06 Preview I Don't Want To Take A Chance - 'Wee' Willie Walker

  • 07 Preview Toddlin' - Gene 'Bowlegs' Miller

  • 08 Preview Freedom Train - James Carr

  • 09 Preview I'm A Poor Man's Son - Spencer Wiggins

  • 10 Preview Ticket To Ride - 'Wee' Willie Walker

  • 11 Preview What'cha Gonna Do - Phillip & The Faithfuls

  • 12 Preview Say You Need It - Barbara Perry

  • 13 Preview When You Look In The Mirror - Eddie Jefferson

  • 14 Preview That's How Strong My Love Is - O.V. Wright with The Keys

  • 15 Preview Love Attack - George & Greer

  • 16 Preview Once In A While (Is Better Than Never At All) - Spencer Wiggins

  • 17 Preview A Man Needs A Woman - James Carr

  • 18 Preview They Say - The Ovations

  • 19 Preview A Lucky Loser - 'Wee' Willie Walker

  • 20 Preview Arabian Jerk - The Merits

  • 21 Preview Have Some Boogaloo - Timmy Thomas

  • 22 Preview The Well's Gone Dry - Dorothy Williams

  • 23 Preview Spoonful - Playboy Five

  • 24 Preview I Don't Know What You've Got (But It's Got Me) - Percy Milem

  • 25 Preview A Man Is A Mean Thing - Barbara Perry

  • 26 Preview Will I Ever Be Free - Jeb Stewart

  • 27 Preview She's Better Than You - Oboe with The Keys

  • 28 Preview He Called Me Baby - Jeanne Newman

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought