The Spring Story Various Artists (Spring Records)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

One of the major soul labels of the 1970s, Spring Records was formed in the late 1960s by Bill Spitalsky and Roy and Julie Rifkind. A hothouse label for some of the most essential soul music of the era, Millie Jackson, Joe Simon and The Fatback Band made their best-known songs and
greatest chart hits for Spring. Included in this volume are Fatback's (Are You Ready) Do The Bus Stop, Joe Simon's powerful, Gamble & Huff-penned Drowning In The Sea Of Love and Millie Jackson's scorchingly confessional If Loving You Is Wrong (I Don't Wanna Be Right). An early offering from Jocelyn Brown - Too Through - proves the singer a top-notch performer from the very beginning and there is disco and deep soul sides from Garland
Green, a classic Northern Soul song I Can See Him Making Love To You (here by The Mayberry Movement) and the UK disco smash Tom The Peeper by Act 1.As album compiler Adie Croasdell asserts in his sleevenotes, Spring (with its subsidiaries Posse and Event) not only produced the big 1970s soul hits, they also "gave us the minor hits and little gems that make soul music so interesting and rewarding.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Tom The Peeper - Act I

  • 02 Preview My Man, A Sweet Man - Millie Jackson

  • 03 Preview Step By Step - Joe Simon

  • 04 Preview I Can See Him Loving You - The Mayberry Movement

  • 05 Preview Too Through - Jocelyn Brown

  • 06 Preview I Found Lovin' - Fatback

  • 07 Preview I Gotta Get Away From My Own Self - Ray Godfrey

  • 08 Preview He Didn't Know (He Kept On Talking) - Garland Green

  • 09 Preview You've Come A Long Way Baby - Flower Shoppe

  • 10 Preview Baby, You Got It All - Street People

  • 11 Preview Just A Little Misunderstanding - Busta Jones

  • 12 Preview SOS (Stop Her On Sight) - Winfield Parker

  • 13 Preview Get Ready / Uptight - Little Eva Harris

  • 14 Preview (Are You Ready) Do The Bus Stop - The Fatback Band

  • 15 Preview It's My Life - Mainstreeters

  • 16 Preview Jody, Come Back And Get Your Shoes - Bobby Newsome

  • 17 Preview If We Get Caught, I Don't Know You - Phillip Mitchell

  • 18 Preview Drowning In The Sea Of Love - Joe Simon

  • 19 Preview If Loving You Is Wrong I Don't Want To Be Right (Reprise) - Millie Jackson

  • 20 Preview Friends Or Lovers - Act I

  • 21 Preview Magic's In The Air - Ronnie Walker

  • 22 Preview Love Contest - The Joneses

  • 23 Preview How About A Little Hand (For The Boys In The Band) - The Boys In The Band

  • 24 Preview Bumpin' And Stompin' - Garland Green

  • 25 Preview Come And Get These Memories - Ray Godfrey And The Determinations

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought