The Sound Of Young Sacramento Various Artists (Nuggets From The Golden State)


Psych / Garage
Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

The mid-1960s rock scene in Sacramento may appear isolated and insular especially when compared to the activities of the neighbouring San Francisco Bay Area, but its teenage audience was as partisan as any other across the United States in those halcyon days. Major acts like the Stones and the Byrds played Sacramento before they ever properly visited San Francisco-.-on their rare stateside visits, the Hollies and the Zombies avoided the Bay Area altogether, heading straight for Sac. The hip programming of the city's two AM power-houses KROY and KXOA fuelled the teen market, whilst savvy promoters exploited it to the max. And there were hundreds of local garage bands ready to cater to the massive, restless audience in the city and its environs.

Five years of sleuthing have gone into the preparation of The Sound Of Young Sacramento, the latest volume in the Nuggets From the Golden State series, which focuses on the very best teen garage and folk-rock groups that visited the Bill Rase Recording Studio & Talent Centre from 1965 to 1967. Bill's modest operation in those years gave these teenage combos an affordable outlet with which to immortalise themselves on wax, and as a result many bands beat a path to his Franklin Boulevard door.

Rase custom-pressed singles for the acts to sell at their shows, often in batches of a few hundred or less, resulting in some captivatingly rare releases. Included here are several records that are acknowledged punk classics, such as the superbly snotty I'll Be Gone by the Opposite Six and the psychotic surf of Too Much Loving by Dixon's Liberty Lads. Also featured are the, lesser known yet no less worthy, records by the Children Of Stone, Hustlers, Kee-Notes and others. There's Brit-Invasion sounds from the Coachmen and cryptic minor key moodiness from the Living End and the Night.

Unlike so many other studios, Bill Rase meticulously archived all his master tapes from the period, and close examination of these has thrown up further unreleased and quite astounding gems of a punk and folk-rock variety. We therefore proudly present several previously unissued ear-opening cuts from both popular Sacramento groups like the Psy-Kicks and Fugitives, and hopelessly obscure high school combos such as the Mergers, Chelsea Sidecar, Kix and Goodtime Music Co. The high standard and idiosyncratic sound of all the recordings featured makes this an exceptionally strong and listenable compilation.

In addition, the diligent research for the project required tracing members of each act featured, which in turn uncovered a wealth of facts, photos and memorabilia, cramming the booklet with an authoritative history of both the groups and the scene from whence they came. After widely-acclaimed releases in the Nuggets' series from Sacramento-related groups like Kak, the Oxford Circle and She, The Sound Of Young Sacramento continues to mine the motherlode of great rock'n'roll from the mid-1960s heyday of California's capital.

By Alec Palao


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'll Be Gone - The Opposite Six

  • 02 Preview Love, You Funny Thing - The Mergers

  • 03 Preview Too Much Loving - The Liberty Lads

  • 04 Preview Money (That's What I Want) - The Coachmen

  • 05 Preview And That's Why - The Coachmen

  • 06 Preview Linda - The Hustlers

  • 07 Preview Summertime - The Insurgents

  • 08 Preview Quit Changing Your Mind - The Kee-Notes

  • 09 Preview Summer Tears - The Psy-Kicks

  • 10 Preview The Second Time Around - The Psy-Kicks

  • 11 Preview Blowin' My Mind - The Fugitives

  • 12 Preview Mary, Can't You See - The Children Of Stone

  • 13 Preview Trust Me - St George & The Dragons

  • 14 Preview A Night Like This - The Living End

  • 15 Preview Brigitta - The Living End

  • 16 Preview Aristocrat - The Goodtime Music Company

  • 17 Preview Passionate Love - The Goodtime Music Company

  • 18 Preview Let Me Go - The Reflections

  • 19 Preview A Little Bit More - The Reflections

  • 20 Preview Why Did You Lie? - Don Wright & The Head Set

  • 21 Preview Hoochie Coochie Man - The Walking Flour

  • 22 Preview I Want To Be Your Driver - The Walking Flour

  • 23 Preview Do I Have To Come Right Out & Say It - The Gallery Production

  • 24 Preview That I Love You - The Organized Confusion

  • 25 Preview I'll Wait For You - The Kix

  • 26 Preview What Would Life Be - The Kix

  • 27 Preview To Realize My Mind - The Night

  • 28 Preview Too Much Loneliness - The Night

  • 29 Preview Thinking Of You - The Chelsea Sidecar

  • 30 Preview Special Girl - The Chelsea Sidecar

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Obsessives won't be disappointed.

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought