The Sound Of The R&B Hits Various Artists (Motown)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1578

With the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Georgie Fame and many more mining Motown songs, “The ‘Sound’ Of The R&B Hits” was the first UK compilation of studio recordings from Berry Gordy’s hugely influential label. Now doubled in length, this collection traces the evolution of Motown in the UK to the moment it scored its first chartbuster in May 1964.

“R&B in Britain is much bigger than anyone suspects,” declared Record Mirror. This observation, in an edition dated 25 April 1964, was based on the results of its Rhythm & Blues Poll – the first conducted by a weekly pop paper in the UK. Very few of the artists listed in the categories had scored hits or even had many records issued in the country, but the poll was timely. Following some wider attention through records and the media, R&B was beginning to emerge dance-step by dance-step from the underground. Arriving in shops around the time of the Record Mirror poll, the Stateside label’s “The ‘Sound’ Of The R&B Hits” LP played a role in opening hearts and minds to the righteous music.

The poll winners reflected two strands of R&B resonating with Record Mirror readers. Several years after recordings by Chuck Berry, Muddy Waters and Bo Diddley were released, the spirit of Chicago blues had been revived by new British groups such as the Rolling Stones, who released their debut LP in the same month as the poll. The Stones and their blues idols were riding high in the poll. But the creators of the other side of R&B were also represented. Their contemporary music was exuberant, fast-paced and sophisticated. Many of these captivating R&B records originated from the Motown Corporation based in Detroit. For example, Mary Wells was the Top Female Singer and the Miracles were voted Best Male Group in Record Mirror. “The ‘Sound’ Of The R&B Hits” was compiled as a showcase for – as the sleeve note stated – the “sound that identifies a Tamla-Motown production”.

Many music fans, including Ace Records co-founder Roger Armstrong, were drawn to the Stateside LP due to its intriguing connection to “With The Beatles”. The group’s second album, released a few months earlier, included versions of three Motown songs. Tony Barrow’s sleeve note made clear the Beatles’ “immense admiration” for the Miracles so, unsurprisingly, five tracks by the Miracles are included on “The ‘Sound’ Of The R&B Hits” – although ‘You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me’, covered on “With The Beatles”, is not one of them. Beatles fans would also notice the presence of the original of ‘Money’ and recognise the name of the Marvelettes from the Beatles’ LP sleeve. Although ‘Please Mr Postman’ – the last song on side one of “With The Beatles”was not amongst the three Marvelettes tracks featured on “The ‘Sound’ Of The R&B Hits”, it is among the 14 bonus tracks on this CD compilation.

“The ‘Sound’ Of The R&B Hits” was issued when only a small minority knew about the joyous music masterminded by Berry Gordy’s stable of artists, writers and producers. Its track listing is so quirky that the Ace team has selected 14 tracks from the same era to complement the Stateside compiler’s concept of “the sound that identifies a Tamla-Motown production”. As you listen, marvel at the fact that not one of these 28 tracks became a hit in the UK. Then tip your hat to the pioneers and champions who banged the gong for this sublime music to be signed, sealed and delivered at last. Can I get a witness?


Hear Roger Armstrong and Kevin Howlett discussing the The ‘Sound’ Of The R&B Hits” on the Ace podcast: here


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Shop Around - Mary Wells

  • 02 Preview Way Over There - The Marvelettes

  • 03 Preview Everybody's Gotta Pay Some Dues - The Miracles

  • 04 Preview Mockingbird - Martha & The Vandellas

  • 05 Preview Bye Bye Baby - Mary Wells

  • 06 Preview I'll Try Something New - The Miracles

  • 07 Preview Dream Baby - The Marvelettes

  • 08 Preview Money (That's What I Want) - Barrett Strong

  • 09 Preview What's So Good About Goodbye - The Miracles

  • 10 Preview Let Me Go The Right Way - The Supremes

  • 11 Preview I Don't Want To Take A Chance - Mary Wells

  • 12 Preview Broken Hearted - The Miracles

  • 13 Preview The One Who Really Loves You - The Marvelettes

  • 14 Preview Do You Love Me - The Miracles

  • 15 Preview Can I Get A Witness - Marvin Gaye

  • 16 Preview Please Mr Postman - The Marvelettes

  • 17 Preview You've Really Got A Hold On Me - The Miracles

  • 18 Preview You Beat Me To The Punch - Mary Wells

  • 19 Preview Pride And Joy - Marvin Gaye

  • 20 Preview Oh I Apologize - Barrett Strong

  • 21 Preview I Found A Girl - The Valadiers

  • 22 Preview I Want A Guy - The Marvelettes

  • 23 Preview Hitch Hike - Marvin Gaye

  • 24 Preview I've Been Good To You - The Miracles

  • 25 Preview Two Lovers - Mary Wells

  • 26 Preview I Found Myself A Brand New Baby - Mike & The Modifiers

  • 27 Preview Shake Sherry - The Contours

  • 28 Preview Heat Wave - Martha & The Vandellas

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


"a thrilling listen, its power undiminished by time or familiarity" Record Collector ★★★★★

"this is the raw early Motown sound that found fans in The Beatles and Dusty Springfield, early champions of Berry Gordy's fledgling label." Shindig

"The UKs early introduction to a sound that would permeate the '60s. Mojo ★★★★

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought