The Original Memphis Blues Brothers Various Artists (Kent/ Modern)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
The Original Memphis Blues Brothers (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

The Original Memphis Blues Brothers is an expanded version of the 1989 Ace album (Ace CHAD 265) compiled by Ray Topping. The new version has been compiled by John Broven, with liner notes by me. This CD is a wonderful snapshot of the vibrant early 1950s blues/R&B scene in Memphis, and contains much material not on the vinyl release, as well as hitherto unissued sides. New and fresh information on the artists and music has been gleaned from a specially-conducted interview in March 2000 with Joe Bihari, one of three brothers for whose Modern/RPM/Meteor labels this music was originally recorded.

Artists featured on the CD include BB King, with alternate takes of his first two 78 rpm releases for RPM Records-.-these tracks represent early output from the Memphis Recording Service owned and operated by Sam Phillips at 706 Union Avenue, Memphis, and later to be the home of the legendary Sun label. Also to be heard are artists still working as active musicians to this day, but thrusting and ambitious back in 1951/52-.-men such as Rosco Gordon (no duplication with Bootin - The Best Of The RPM Years - Ace CDCHD 694), Ike Turner and the young Bobby Bland, whose vocal style so affected women at Bobby's gigs such as to keep lingerie manufacturers gainfully employed for many years!

Bland went on to fashion a lengthy recording career during the 50s and 60s with Duke Records in Houston, in common with another artist who followed the same trail from Tennessee to Texas, Junior Parker. Junior only had one release for Modern Records, but he is accompanied by Matt 'Guitar' Murphy, later to appear in "The Blues Brothers" movie - life-imitating art! Two other Memphis musicians recorded by the Bihari brothers, but spirited away by arch-hustler Don Robey of Duke Records were Johnny Ace and Earl Forest. Ace was to blow his brains out backstage at the Houston City Auditorium on Christmas Day 1954, but thankfully Earl Forest is still with us and has recently been rediscovered and interviewed.

All these artists, most of them now household names of the blues world, made their seminal recordings for the Bihari brothers, and if there is not actually a blood relationship between these giants of the post-war black music scene, there is certainly an affinity of filial proportions. Ace is proud to collect this music together on a CD of tough rockin' blues and R&B from the city on the Mississippi.

By Chris Bentley


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Good Lovin' - Bobby Bland

  • 02 Preview Drifting From Town To Town - Bobby Bland

  • 03 Preview Dry Up Baby - Bobby Bland

  • 04 Preview Crying All Night Long - Bobby Bland

  • 05 Preview Love Me Baby - Bobby Bland

  • 06 Preview Bad Women, Bad Whiskey - Little Junior Parker & the Blue Flames

  • 07 Preview You're My Angel - Little Junior Parker

  • 08 Preview She Calls Me Daddy aka Whole Heap Of Mama - Earl Forest

  • 09 Preview I Wronged A Woman - Earl 'Whoopin' & Hollerin'' Forest

  • 10 Preview I Can't Forgive You - Earl 'Whoopin' & Hollerin'' Forest

  • 11 Preview Sad And Lonely - Earl Forest

  • 12 Preview Rumpus Romp (Instr.) - Earl Forest

  • 13 Preview Trouble And Me - Earl Forest

  • 14 Preview I Cried - Johnny Ace

  • 15 Preview Midnight Hours Journey - Johnny Ace

  • 16 Preview B. B. Boogie - B.B. King

  • 17 Preview Mistreated Woman - B.B. King

  • 18 Preview The Other Night Blues - B.B. King

  • 19 Preview Walkin' And Cryin' - B.B. King

  • 20 Preview You're Driving Me Insane - Ike Turner

  • 21 Preview Trouble And Heartaches - Ike Turner singing with Ben Burton & His Orchestra

  • 22 Preview That Gal Of Mine - Rosco Gordon

  • 23 Preview So Tired - Rosco Gordon

  • 24 Preview Run To Me Baby - Rosco Gordon

  • 25 Preview She Rocks Me - Rosco Gordon

  • 26 Preview Don't Have To Worry 'Bout You No More - Rosco Gordon

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A definite contender of CD of the year.

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought