The Original Eight Mile. Westbound Records: 40th Anniversary Various Artists (Westbound)


Catalogue Id:

It’s a very special time here at Ace Towers as we are celebrating the 40th birthday of one of our very favourite record labels, Westbound. Ace has represented Westbound in Europe for the best part of 20 years, lovingly reissuing their greatest and also their most obscure records. It’s been great to have been on hand when ‘Maggot Brain’ was declared “the most influential thing ever, ever” and as obscure singles on the Eastbound label became sample classics or northern soul monsters. So this month, last month and in fact well into the New Year we will be focusing on some special Westbound releases as a tribute to 40 incredible years and raising a toast to owner and founder Armen Boladian.

Westbound was founded in 1968 just as things in Detroit were on the wane for independent record labels. The phalanx of labels that had started up in the wake of Berry Gordy’s Motown were being slowly forced out of the local market by its success. Motown bought some of their rivals, and others faded away. Ironically Gordy already had his eyes elsewhere and moved his enterprise to the sunshine of LA. Armen Boladian had been a key figure in Detroit distribution, and for the first year of his new label he tried out various local talents to find out what would work. Funkadelic were the first group to take off, scoring hits with ‘I’ll Bet You’ and their debut album “Music For Your Mother”, followed by others, meaning that George Clinton’s mob were critical to the label in the first half of the 70s. Today their albums are seen as cornerstones in the development of music.

Bigger hits came with the Detroit Emeralds, the Ohio Players and Denise LaSalle. A little remembered point is that the recordings of the Detroit Emeralds and LaSalle were pioneers of the Hi Sound, produced by Willie Mitchell in Memphis. LaSalle’s ‘Trapped By A Thing Called Love’ was actually the first Hi Sound #1, weeks before Al Green. Off these success stories followed a large range of music: soul, funk, or group sounds. In addition was the Eastbound label that specialised in jazz albums – highly sought-after today – and singles, often of astounding quality, such as Unique Blend’s ‘I’m In Love’.

Success continued through the disco era with C J & Co, Mike Theodore and Dennis Coffey, along with plenty of quality soul. Albums such as that by Eramus Hall are considered to be indie soul masterpieces today. However the late 70s was not a time to be an independent label trying to have pop hits, so Armen moved into the gospel world and we have featured a couple of these gospel cuts in our selection. Bill Moss’ cut is an amazing heartfelt sound, whilst the Clark Sisters’ ‘You Brought The Sunshine’ became an anthem at the legendary Paradise Garage nightclub in New York, and was a final shot at mainstream success.

Raise your glass to Westbound Records, a really great record label.

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'll Bet You - Funkadelic

  • 02 Preview Trapped By A Thing Called Love - Denise LaSalle

  • 03 Preview Pain (Part 1) - Ohio Players

  • 04 Preview Everything Is Going To Be Alright - Bill Moss & The Celestials

  • 05 Preview Feel The Need In Me - The Detroit Emeralds

  • 06 Preview Yes I'm In Love - Unique Blend

  • 07 Preview Get Up Off My Mind - Denise LaSalle

  • 08 Preview If You Want My Love - Melvin Sparks with Jimmy Scott

  • 09 Preview Cosmic Slop - Funkadelic

  • 10 Preview Funky Worm - The Ohio Players

  • 11 Preview Back To Funk - Robert Lowe

  • 12 Preview Moon Trek - The Mike Theodore Orchestra

  • 13 Preview Devil's Gun - C J & Co

  • 14 Preview Alvin Stone - Fantastic Four

  • 15 Preview A Sweet Taste Of Sin - Dennis Coffey

  • 16 Preview Suzie Thundertussy - Junie

  • 17 Preview Cookie Jar - Fuzzy Haskins

  • 18 Preview Manhattan Love Song - King Errisson

  • 19 Preview Your Love Is My Desire - Eramus Hall

  • 20 Preview You Brought The Sunshine (Into My Life) (Single edit) - The Clark Sisters

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought