The Grand Prix Of Gibraltar Peter Ustinov


Spoken Word
Catalogue Id:

As well as making some of the greatest jazz recordings, Riverside Records also released about 20 albums in its Riverside Sports Car Series. These included interviews with contemporary racing drivers including Stirling Moss and Phil Hill (also available through Ace) and double LPs of engine sounds(!) as well as Peter Ustinov's Grand Prix Of Gibraltar.

A spoof Grand Prix based loosely around the Monaco GP, which Ustinov, a great motor racing fan, occasionally attended, this is the first time it has ever been released on CD. Sir Peter replicates (extraordinarily successfully) assorted engine noises (he had a cold at the time which helped make his Ferrari V12 sound more authentic), marching bands and klaxons. He lampoons the various personalities and nationalities involved in motor racing in 1958 in a wonderfully non-PC manner.

The sleeve-note has been written by Nigel Roebuck, probably the greatest authority on Grand Prix racing today, based on a recent interview with Sir Peter himself.

Please note, you do not have to be interested in motor racing to enjoy this CD, just in possession of a sense of humour.....

In these days of sanitised, processional Formula One racing, where the sport's authorities encourage us to view it more as a game of chess than a race and any driver who utters anything except the official line is reprimanded, it is a joy to listen to.

By Phil Stoker


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Prologue

  • 02 Preview Interviews with: Von Grips, Albauer, Orgini, Fandango, Foss, Dill, Russian Observer

  • 03 Preview Drivers' Meeting

  • 04 Preview Governor's Speech

  • 05 Preview Le Mans Start

  • 06 Preview The Arrival Of The Duke

  • 07 Preview The Race: Fanfani pit stop, Wildfowl pit stop, Orgini pit stop, Fanfani pit stop, Halfway report, Russian Observer, Schnorcedes pit stop, Pitfall pit stop

  • 08 Preview Epilogue

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Customers who bought this item also bought