The Golden Age Of American Popular Music - The Country Hits Various Artists (Golden Age of American Popular Music)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1185

Here at Ace Towers we usually have a pretty realistic advance idea of how many copies we’re likely to sell of any CD that we release. But once in a while we put out something that catches the public imagination in a manner that exceeds our expectations in terms of sales and acclaim. Such was the case with our “Special Country Edition” of our “Golden Age Of American Rock’n’Roll” series, which has already sold almost twice as many copies as we initially anticipated, and which is still selling strongly six years on from its initial release.

Any success such as that begs the question “are there any more at home like you?” and, fortunately, country music was never far from the Billboard Hot 100 during the Golden Age. Thus it was recently my pleasure to pick up the compiler’s baton from where my colleague Rob Finnis had left it, and to turn my attentions to pulling together another two-dozen-plus country chartbusters that also “crossed over” to pop.

There’s a slight change, this time around, in that this volume is part of our “Golden Age Of American Popular Music” series. The overall content is slightly gentler on the ears than its predecessor, but there’s nevertheless maximum hard core country content throughout and even a little bit of rockabilly to contrast with the softer elements of some of the exemplary balladeering that’s showcased.

The table of featured artists reads like a mini-Country Music Hall Of Fame: Jim Reeves, Patsy Cline, Eddy Arnold, Lefty Frizzell, Bobby Bare and Johnny Horton being just a few examples of the top talent that’s assembled for your listening pleasure. The set also includes many of country’s all time biggest hits, such as Bobby Helms’ 36 week chart-topper Fraulein, Johnny Cash’s seminal #1 Don’t Take Your Guns To Town and Ferlin Husky’s Wings Of A Dove, the genre’s biggest hit of 1960. All selections have been mastered from the best possible tape sources and you will never have heard them sounding as good as they do here. Chris Bolton, of “Country Music People” magazine, has written an in-depth note about both the tracks on display and the artists that recorded them, and as ever with a “Golden Age” project, there’s an ephemera-packed booklet that would have cracked the CD case if we’d had any more pages to fill.

They say that lightning never strikes twice in the same place, but there’s no reason why “The Golden Age Of American Popular Music – The Country Hits” shouldn’t disprove that theory by doing just as well as its sister volume.

By Tony Rounce

Click here for information on the Golden Age of American Rock'n'Roll Series


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Honky Tonk Man - Johnny Horton

  • 02 Preview Fraulein - Bobby Helms

  • 03 Preview Caribbean - Mitchell Torok

  • 04 Preview Don't Take Your Guns To Town - Johnny Cash

  • 05 Preview Why I'm Walkin' - Stonewall Jackson

  • 06 Preview Geisha Girl - Hank Locklin

  • 07 Preview I Can't Stop Loving You - Don Gibson

  • 08 Preview Alone With You - Faron Young

  • 09 Preview A Fallen Star - Jimmy Newman

  • 10 Preview Invitation To The Blues - Ray Price

  • 11 Preview Tender Years - George Jones

  • 12 Preview Blue Boy - Jim Reeves

  • 13 Preview Mom And Dad's Waltz - Patti Page

  • 14 Preview Tennessee Stud - Eddy Arnold

  • 15 Preview My Last Date (With You) - Skeeter Davis

  • 16 Preview San Antonio Rose - Floyd Cramer

  • 17 Preview Don't Worry - Marty Robbins

  • 18 Preview I'll Have Another Cup Of Coffee (Then I'll Go) - Claude Gray

  • 19 Preview The Comancheros - Claude King

  • 20 Preview She's Got You - Patsy Cline

  • 21 Preview Shame On Me - Bobby Bare

  • 22 Preview If A Woman Answers (Hang Up the Phone) - Leroy Van Dyke

  • 23 Preview Three Hearts In A Tangle - Roy Drusky

  • 24 Preview Wings Of A Dove - Ferlin Husky

  • 25 Preview Saginaw, Michigan - Lefty Frizzell

  • 26 Preview Mama Sang A Song - Bill Anderson

  • 27 Preview The Tips Of My Fingers - Roy Clark

  • 28 Preview I've Been Everywhere - Hank Snow

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought