The Birth Of Surf Vol 2 Various Artists (Birth of Surf)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1252

“The Birth Of Surf Volume 2” follows the pattern of Vol 1 in taking a slice through the timeline of rock instrumental history leading up to and on through the first surf era. Influential artists such as the Ventures, Wailers and Revels are joined by early examples of the sounds that became surf such as the Scarlets’ ‘Stampede’, the Rockin’ Rebels’ ‘Wild Weekend’ and the Busters on ‘Bust Out’.

Presented chronologically, the CD then moves on to early surf titles commencing with one that helped define the genre: ‘Surf Beat’ from Dick Dale, the irrefutable King of the Surf Guitar. Four other hit-makers are represented by their equally exciting follow-up singles: the Surfaris with ‘Point Panic’ (which also charted), the Chantays on ‘Monsoon’, ‘Hot Doggin’’ by the Astronauts and ‘Midnight Run’ from the Pyramids. Rather bizarrely, those last three were not included on any of the groups’ 1960s LPs. Unusually for that time the Centurions released an LP yet never had a single issued. But that didn't stop Quentin Tarantino from recognising the power of their track ‘Bullwinkle Pt II’ and using it on the soundtrack to his 1994 film Pulp Fiction where it is heard to great effect during the infamous shooting up scene.

The Trashmen had a big vocal hit with ‘Surfin’ Bird’ but they loved their surf instrumentals and they are represented here by their magnificently surfed-up arrangement of ‘Malaguena’ from the “Surfin’ Bird” LP. Bobby Fuller had his hits with the Bobby Fuller Four two years after releasing his classically surf-styled ‘Our Favorite Martian’ as by Bobby Fuller & the Fanatics. Jim Messina also had to wait for his recognition when he later joined Buffalo Springfield, formed Poco and then Loggins & Messina with Kenny Loggins. But it was as Jim Messina & the Jesters that he secured an album release in 1964 titled “The Dragsters”, ‘The Thing’ being a particularly potent example of the group's high energy approach. This track is being made available again for the first time in over 45 years.

As if all those big names weren’t enough, “The Birth Of Surf Volume 2” features no less than five more first-time-on-CD rarities. ‘Enchanted’ (the Pagents), ‘Baggies’ (the Bel-Aires), ‘Crash’ (the Creations), ‘Cloudburst’ (the Kan Dells) and ‘Unknown’ (the Vy-Dels), none of which have been released in any form since they first surfaced on small independent labels in the 1960s.

With still more rarities such as ‘Golash’ by the Intrepides and ‘Mr X’ by the Velvetones plus the original version of ‘Theme From The Endless Summer’ by the Sandals, this collection is at least a match for its successful predecessor. It’s an exciting listen, an attractive purchase for the casual buyer, and is sure to be an essential acquisition for collectors. By Alan Taylor


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Walk - Don't Run - The Ventures

  • 02 Preview Stampede - The Scarlets

  • 03 Preview Shanghied - The Wailers

  • 04 Preview Church Key - The Revels with Barbara Adkins

  • 05 Preview Wild Weekend - The Rockin' Rebels

  • 06 Preview Bust Out - The Busters

  • 07 Preview Surf Beat - Dick Dale & His Del-Tones

  • 08 Preview Point Panic - The Surfaris

  • 09 Preview Monsoon - The Chantays

  • 10 Preview Bullwinkle Pt II - The Centurions

  • 11 Preview High Tide - The Lively Ones

  • 12 Preview Hot Doggin' - The Astronauts

  • 13 Preview Enchanted - The Pagents

  • 14 Preview Surfari - The Original Surfaris

  • 15 Preview Malaguena - The Trashmen

  • 16 Preview Midnight Run - The Pyramids

  • 17 Preview Baggies - The Bel-Aires

  • 18 Preview Banzai Washout - The Catalinas

  • 19 Preview The Thing - Jim Messina & His Jesters

  • 20 Preview Our Favorite Martian - Bobby Fuller & The Fanatics

  • 21 Preview Crash - The Creations

  • 22 Preview Cloudburst - The Kan Dells

  • 23 Preview Golash - The Intrepides

  • 24 Preview Mr X - The Velvetones

  • 25 Preview Unknown - The Vy-Dels

  • 26 Preview Theme From The Endless Summer - The Sandals

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought