The 100 Club Anniversary Singles. 6T's 1979-2009 Various Artists (6TS)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

I was 26 and needed to hear more of that inspiring, original 60s club soul music that was a recent revelation. There were no dances to go to, so my new mate Randy and I thought we’d give it a go ourselves. Thirty years on, we’ve tragically lost Randy and a few others along the way, but we’re still opening the club doors for the fans of that same great music, as we have for a generation now.

The first Kent LP we issued featured the very essence of that 6Ts Rhythm ‘N’ Soul Society who can be seen whooping it up on the LP cover, our resident DJ Ian Clarke, an inspiration to so many, designed most of the first 50 sleeves and Randy himself told me which tracks to go with, if I was ever in any doubt. The label and club were always inextricably linked and when I had the bright idea of a free record, instead of a poxy cloth patch, it was Ace who copped the plea.

First up - Mary Love, Etta James and the Ikettes: simple and very effective. It was the essence of R&S. Two years later, though, the penny dropped. I realised we were sitting on some dance floor dynamite with all those unissued 60s soul tracks begging to be allowed into collections where as singles they would be revered. In September 1986 Melba Moore’s ‘Magic Touch’ was issued on the second Kent 6Ts Anniversary Single and with those internationally recognised, dramatic opening piano bars, the legend began.

Perhaps I’m guilty of a little self-delusion here, but I believe this series of 25 singles is up there with the best original US 60s soul series on any UK label and the standard on this CD demonstrates just that.

The “big”, tracks are all here: the San Franciscan TKOs, Chuck’s ‘Loneliness’, the Magicians historical vocal to ‘Double Cookin’’, Lorraine Chandler and Gigi with her charming Charmaines. But those are the ones we regularly hear played out in clubs across the Northern Soul galaxy. It’s the ones who I believe have yet to have their day that excite me, particularly now that I’ve had time to reassess their charms. Take Johnnie Taylor’s growling and grooving on ‘Please Let Me In’; it won’t outdo J J Barnes’ original Ric Tic version, but listen to those opening clean, crisp guitar licks and dig those Staxy horns as they drive the song.

Here’s another one for you - the Devonnes singing Larry Banks and Jaibi’s ‘Doin’ “The Gittin’ Up”’. Two lovers with superb writing and singing talents, who could turn a lightweight dance number into a work of art.

Not destined to become a dancefloor staple, but a stunning record nonetheless, is ‘Can’t Say No’ by the M-Ms and the Peanuts.

Get your fine selves down to Ladbrokes and put a tenner on Mill Evans ‘Ain’t You Glad’ being the next £100 anniversary 45. Butch has picked up an original acetate and is playing it and all of a sudden its quality is appreciated.

Then there’s the sheer class of Sharon Scott’s Detroit-inspired masterpiece ‘(Putting My Heart Under) Lock And Key’, Peggy Woods’ underrated Modern mid-60s mover ‘Love Is Gonna Get You’ and owzabout Wally Cox’s Golden State Recorder -produced soulful reading of his Wand stomper ‘This Man Wants You’.

The notes are substantial; I ramble on about a subject which, after all, is very close to my heart and now I finally know the truth about one of the greatest soul records ever from Ms Carla Thomas, I share it; not even sparing the boss’s blushes.

Strike me down if I ain’t gorn and revealed the 30th anniversary single before the dance ‘as ‘appened. But you don’t know what the flip is yet (any more than me), do yer?

‘Arboro ‘Orace

NB: due to contractual problems we have had to drop the Moments aka The Fabulous Impact single, but you can still read all about it in the booklet.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Hey Stoney Face - Mary Love

  • 02 Preview The Magic Touch - Melba Moore

  • 03 Preview Not My Girl - The Platters

  • 04 Preview Love Is Gonna Get You - Peggy Woods

  • 05 Preview This Man Wants You - Wally Cox

  • 06 Preview I'll Never Stop Loving You - Carla Thomas

  • 07 Preview What's With This Loneliness - Chuck Jackson

  • 08 Preview Here Comes Loneliness - The Teardrops

  • 09 Preview Love Has Passed Me By - Phil Terrell

  • 10 Preview Ain't That Good Enough - John Edwards

  • 11 Preview (Putting My Heart Under) Lock And Key - Sharon Scott

  • 12 Preview You Only Live Twice - Lorraine Chandler

  • 13 Preview Make Up Your Mind - The San Francisco TKOs

  • 14 Preview Please Let Me In - Johnnie Taylor

  • 15 Preview (You Gotta) Come Through Me - Garland Green

  • 16 Preview Ain't You Glad - Mill Evans

  • 17 Preview Can't Say No - The M-Ms & The Peanuts

  • 18 Preview To Get Love You've Got To Give Love - Debra Johnson

  • 19 Preview (Just A Little) Faith And Understanding - The Magicians

  • 20 Preview Doin' "The Gittin' Up" - The Devonnes

  • 21 Preview I Don't Wanna Lose Him - Gigi & The Charmaines

  • 22 Preview What's One More Lie? - Milton Bennett

  • 23 Preview Good News - The Hytones

  • 24 Preview Get To Steppin' - Jackie Day

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought