Takoma Blues Various Artists (Themes)


Catalogue Id:
CDTAK 8907

There is a well-known rich tradition of field recordings of older established blues players in America that has been well documented over the decades, but most music fans would immediately picture a recording truck pulling up in small towns and hamlets in the deep south for such trips. The recordings here, by contrast, were all made in and around Chicago in the early years of the sixties when Norman Dayron took equipment around the artists' own apartments or the city's small clubs like the Fickle Pickle which was run by the young Mike Bloomfield. At the time Chicago's main thrust was electrified band blues playing developed in the wake of the northern relocation of blues players from the south searching for more lucrative work, but many such younger band players were drawing their inspiration from the sort of older players represented here.

These tracks were originally issued as two vinyl albums Chicago Breakdown (Takoma 7071) and Rare Blues (Takoma 7081), and their engineer/producer Norman Dayron also provided the sleeve notes that are reproduced here. Distinction is made early on between 'money' dates in clubs where little attention would have been given to the musicians and the types of dates in clubs where people actually listened and players would have had the chance to properly learn from each other. Here we have fine examples of this as the small print reveals the presence of Paul Butterfield, Elvin Bishop and Mike Bloomfield, all eager young players learning from the older men. Within a very short time all three would be recording as the Paul Butterfield Blues Band and spreading the music to a wider and younger audience.

Artists here include pianists Little Brother Montgomery and Eddie Boyd, guitarists Big Joe Williams, John Lee Granderson. Rev. Robert Wilkins and harmonica player James Cotton who spent considerable time with Muddy Waters' band. Dr Isaiah Ross pulls much of this together as a one man band, and the tracks here come from his famed University Of Chicago concert in January 1965 (available in full on Ace's website as CDTAK 7087). Our CD cover features Maxwell Street Jimmy, pictured playing in his aprons outside the greasy spoon cafe where he worked. Collectors will also find standout interest with the inclusion of ‘Lend Me Your Love’ from Sunnyland Slim and ‘Preachin' Blues’ from Son House, with the latter being rated by many as the man at his finest.

Although field recordings in the main, the audio quality is excellent with a rare intimacy that adds so much to the overall feel of the album. The years that they were made (1963-1965) were a transitional time for both knowledge and appreciation of the blues. Many older players were being rediscovered through the detective work of musicologists and being presented to new and younger audiences, and the younger players were recycling the feels and structures of the blues into electrified band formats, making it arguably the time when the blues was reaching the largest audiences ever, and forming a key part of some initial breaking down of earlier racial barriers. This album is a wonderful example of what was happening.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Hesitation Blues - Little Brother Montgomery

  • 02 Preview Minglewood Town - John Lee Granderson

  • 03 Preview Chicago Breakdown - Dr Ross

  • 04 Preview I Feel So Worried - Big Joe Williams

  • 05 Preview V 8 Ford Blues (Going To Your Funeral In A V-8 Ford) - James Cotton

  • 06 Preview Crying Won't Make Me Stay - Maxwell Street Jimmy

  • 07 Preview Michigan Water Blues - Little Brother Montgomery

  • 08 Preview Good Morning Little Schoolgirl - John Lee Granderson

  • 09 Preview Hobo Blues - Dr Ross

  • 10 Preview Stack O'Dollars - Big Joe Williams

  • 11 Preview Polly Put The Kettle On - James Cotton

  • 12 Preview Five Long Years - Eddie Boyd

  • 13 Preview Good Morning Little Schoolgirl - Dr Ross

  • 14 Preview Alberta - Maxwell Street Jimmy

  • 15 Preview I Ain't Got Nobody - Big Joe Williams

  • 16 Preview Preachin' Blues - Son House

  • 17 Preview I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down - Rev Robert Wilkins

  • 18 Preview Pleadin' Blues - Little Brother Montgomery

  • 19 Preview Lend Me Your Love - Sunnyland Slim

  • 20 Preview Two Trains Running - Maxwell Street Jimmy

  • 21 Preview Whistlin' Pines - Big Joe Williams

  • 22 Preview O Lord I Want You To Help Me - Rev Robert Wilkins

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought