Super Funk Various Artists (Super Funk)


Catalogue Id:
BGP2 131

This product is also available in these versions:
Best Of Super Funk (MP3), MP3 (£7.90)

There has been much talk of a funk revival in the last couple of years. DJ's such as Snowboy and Keb Darge have rejected the same old rare groove classics and dug deeper and deeper to find the lost sound of the urban America of the late 60s and early 70s. The results have been varied as compilations, many good but so many more shoddy, have hit the shops. You may have wondered why BGP had kept clear of the field and the reason was simple - we were giving it our fullest attention. Not for us the quick cash-in, cavalier attitudes to licensing or acres of filler - a good compilation in these parts requires hours of research, digging for obscure singles and then matching that up with top quality unreleased gems. Super Funk is here at last, and to sound cliched it is the bomb.

What else can you say about the never-before released marvels of Larry and Tommy who kick Shorty Long's original well into touch? Questions could probably be asked in the house about why the Houston Outlaws' Soul Power never saw the light of day-.-and while it is obvious that Jackie Dee's gorgeous Love You Wholeheartedly was only a demo, I for one am happy to be sharing it with the world. While we're talking unreleased, if any of you spotters out there reckon you own I Love You by the Motivations you just don't own this version an alternative funky mix from the vaults. To this you can add never-before heard gems from Marvin Holmes, Chico and Buddy and Dave Hamilton.

From the hard-to-find shelf we have Huck Daniels' marvellous rare Kent single Foolish Man, the Buena Vistas' Kick Back, Robert Lowe's Back To Funk and the rather cheeky Abraham and the Casanovas' Hook And Boogit. And on top of this we have groove-tastic Pace-Setters - Bootsy Collins and friends - the Pazant Brothers from their super rare LP, and, well, so much more.

So not just another funk compilation but crystal clear funkiness handed to you on a plate.

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Got To Get Me A Job - Ann Alford

  • 02 Preview Here Comes The Judge - Larry & Tommy

  • 03 Preview Soul Power - The Houston Outlaws

  • 04 Preview The Devil Made Me Do It - Gene Anderson

  • 05 Preview Skunk Juice - The Pazant Brothers

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Franchise On Love - Felecia Johnson & T.S.B. Inc.

  • 02 Preview I Love You - The Motivations

  • 03 Preview Keep Your Faith Baby - Chuck Bridges

  • 04 Preview Day Of Rest - Marvin Holmes & the Uptights

  • 05 Preview Get Up Off My Mind - Denise LaSalle

Side 3

  • 01 Preview Foolish Man (Part 1) - The Huck Daniels Co featuring Johnny Adams

  • 02 Preview Hook and Boogit (Part 1) - Abraham & the Casanovas

  • 03 Preview Hook and Boogit (Part 2) - Abraham & the Casanovas

  • 04 Preview Kick Back - The Buena Vistas

  • 05 Preview Groove - Dave Hamilton

Side 4

  • 01 Preview Motor City - The Counts

  • 02 Preview Freedom And Justice - The Pace-Setters

  • 03 Preview Back To Funk - Robert Lowe

  • 04 Preview Soul Funk - Chico and Buddy

  • 05 Preview I Got To Have You - Little Ann

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought