Submarine Tracks & Fool's Gold: Chiswick Chartbusters Various Artists (Hip Pocket Series)


Punk Rock
Catalogue Id:
CDHP 028

Our Hip Pocket series has covered a lot of ground in very little time, with a repertoire that embraces everything from the Everlys to the Damned to the Olympics to the Sonics to the Zombies. The best thing about the Hip Pockets – apart from the fact that they look cool – is that the whole spectrum of music co-exists comfortably within its boundaries, and without preconception of what’s coming up next.

July’s releases typify the ‘if it’s good you’ll find it in a Hip Pocket’ approach to building a catalogue. Funkadelic’s 1971 piece of, er, ‘funkadelia’, MAGGOT BRAIN – the album that established George Clinton’s psychopranksters as a unique force in black American music – is not the most obvious bedfellow for the first time CD issue of FOOLS GOLD – a compilation of hits, flips, flops and fliers from the early days of Ace’s Chiswick label. But if they have nothing much in common on the face of it, below the surface they share a bond of excellence. Indeed, were it not for the sales of some of the records that feature on “Fools Gold” Chiswick would probably not have had the resources to branch out into the world of reissues, and for Ace to become the label that you all know and hopefully love some 30 years later.

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Keys To Your Heart - The 101'ers

  • 02 Preview Teenage Letter - The Count Bishops

  • 03 Preview She's My Gal - The Gorillas

  • 04 Preview I'm Crying - Little Bob Story

  • 05 Preview Train Train - The Count Bishops

  • 06 Preview Gorilla Got Me - The Gorillas

  • 07 Preview Dirty Pictures - The Radio Stars

  • 08 Preview Gatecrasher - The Gorillas

  • 09 Preview Drip Drop - Rocky Sharpe & The Razors

  • 10 Preview Baby Don't Cry - Little Bob Story

  • 11 Preview Route 66 - The Count Bishops

  • 12 Preview So Hard To Laugh, So Easy To Cry - Rocky Sharpe & The Razors

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought