Soul In Harmony - Vocal Groups 1965-1977 Various Artists (In Perfect Harmony)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

Kent has a long tradition in presenting the best of soul group harmony recordings. 25 years ago we came up with the LP “Great Sixties Soul Groups” and in the digital age Ady gathered together 24 Impressions sound-a-likes on “Impressed” and Tony followed with his two “Perfect Harmony” CDs. The last of those was issued in 2005,  so this new volume is long overdue.

The time span is wide with a fascinating alternate take of the Mad Lads ‘Don’t Have To Shop Around’ from 1965 while a late switch of tracks when we faced some  licensing difficulties meant a 1984 track by the superb Detroit vocal outfit Nightchill was included at the last minute. We feel certain that our aural license will be forgiven once the track is heard.

Only four of the acts have appeared on previous volumes of the Harmony series and only three of the recordings have been compiled onto Ace CDs before and so the majority are digitalised for the first time.

Major attractions include the Dynamic Soul Machine’s original version of the Sam Dees and Frederick Knight song ‘Boom-A-Rang’, also covered by Corey Blake as ‘Your Love Is Like A Boomerang’. The Four Sonics take on Dusty’s ‘You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me’ was an inspired cover choice and a big R&B record two years after the hit. Also from Detroit comes the Dramatics first Volt 45, ‘Since I’ve Been In Love’, making its CD debut.

Harmony certainly does not only feature in ballads. The offerings of Philly’s Festivals and Detroit’s Brothers Of Soul are mid-tempo movers of the highest vocal and musical quality.

How the Pretenders never had an R&B hit is a mystery. Their beautiful ‘Just You Wait And See’ didn’t make it onto our Carnival CDs but fits in perfectly here. For the many soul group collectors who came to the music through doo wop the inclusion of the very scarce and expensive Flodavieur 45 by the Inconquerables will be welcome with its echoes of the 50s in ‘Wait For Me’ as there is with the Imaginations melodious ‘Strange Voice’, remixed from the original multi-track tape. Tape talk neatly brings in the quarter of the album never heard before. Dave Hamilton’s Detroit studios supply the Webb People ‘Who’s The Biggest Fool’ and the Nightchill number ‘Once Again’. If we add his rare TCB-pressed ‘Heavenly Thing’ by the Mark-Keys we can see how deeply he was into this sound.  

New York producer David Blake is the link between the Stylistics-sounding Radiations ‘Love Be Not A Stranger’, released on Valise Records, possibly sung at an even higher pitch than their mentors could manage, and the Quotations whom he produced for DiVenus Records. Their ‘Anytime You Want Me’ has a slick 60s Big Apple production but missed release when the label folded.

The soul harmony sound is most often performed by men but here we have two excellent renditions by girl groups. Carnival’s Joe Evans excelled at this style of soul and released ‘Need Someone To Love’ on both Norma Jenkins and the Symphonies, whose group arrangement we chose. We have also added a delicate, unreleased ballad by the Lovettes, ‘I’ll Be Waiting’, its gentle harmonies the perfect ending to this latest Kent offering.

By Ady Croasdell and Tony Rounce



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Strange Voice - The Imaginations

  • 02 Preview Boom-A-Rang - The Dynamic Soul Machine

  • 03 Preview Baby (There's Nothing You Can Do) - The Joneses

  • 04 Preview Since I've Been In Love - The Dramatics

  • 05 Preview You Don't Have To Say You Love Me - The Four Sonics

  • 06 Preview We Can Make It Baby - The Reputations

  • 07 Preview Who's The Biggest Fool - The Webb People

  • 08 Preview Just You Wait And See - The Pretenders

  • 09 Preview That Day When She Needed Me - The Performers

  • 10 Preview Be By Your Side - Moon & Mars

  • 11 Preview Don't Have To Shop Around (Take 1) - The Mad Lads

  • 12 Preview Anytime That You Want Me - The Quotations

  • 13 Preview Waiting For Your Love - The Love Experience

  • 14 Preview Once Again - Nightchill

  • 15 Preview Wait For Me - The Inconquerables

  • 16 Preview Take Your Time - The Festivals

  • 17 Preview Can't Get You Off My Mind - Brothers Of Soul

  • 18 Preview Need Someone To Love - The Symphonies

  • 19 Preview Ooh, Baby Baby - The Magnificent 7

  • 20 Preview Love Be Not A Stranger - The Radiations

  • 21 Preview I Won't Stand In Your Way - The Premiers

  • 22 Preview Linda - Salt & Pepper

  • 23 Preview Heavenly Thing - The Mark-Keys

  • 24 Preview I'll Be Waiting - The Lovettes

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought