R&B On Lakewood Boulevard Various Artists (Downey Records)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1165

This product is also available in these versions:
R&B On Lakewood Boulevard (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Early in 1998 I arrived in Los Angeles to start a short-lived career with a new band, and within the first few days I found myself at Rhino Records in West LA, where I was handed a CD named “Downey Blues”. This was of paramount importance to me, as Downey Records had long been a sort of hobby of mine, and I was particularly interested in the R&B and blues material recorded by the company. Up until that point I only knew of a surf comp, issued by Dunhill in 1988, so the fact that someone had licensed Downey’s R&B was exciting. An article of mine on the Downey story was published in Goldmine back in 1991. For this I had researched in vain most of the R&B and doo wop sides issued by this enigmatic label. To make matters even more synchronistic the company who had just released the new Downey Blues comp was the Bay Area-based HighTone Records, with whom the group I was about to join had a contract. Not only that, but shortly after my arrival I did a recording session for another HighTone artist, whereby I found myself working with the legendary producer Bruce Bromberg.

These days we know quite a bit more about the blues and R&B artists who recorded for Downey; the “Downey Blues” CD is long deleted; Ace Records now has charge of the catalogue; and this new package (the fourth in the Ace/Downey series) brings you that HighTone collection with a tantalising sprinkle of extra flavour, in the shape of more previously unreleased recordings, and extensive newly-researched notes, plus everything beautifully remastered.

This CD features the fabulous voice of Little Johnny Taylor just prior to his great run of hits at Galaxy; some seldom heard T-Bone Walker Jr.; and some fine harp playing from Ace Holder. Our friend from “It Came From The Suburbs”, Jessie Hill, makes a welcome re-appearance too. There’s even a splash of doo wop.

Record collectors who travelled to Southern California looking for rare vinyl between 1972-2002, will have visited Wenzels Music Town. The more interesting stock, often commission items, was in the room to the left. Permission was needed to pass through into that room, which had all four walls racked out with 45s. This was where the Downey recordings had been made. The room all browsers need after a couple of hours digging through record racks was situated through another door, in a back store room. Collectors who knew the store always told newcomers to be sure to use the bathroom and look up above their head. There, on an old shelf, were piled the original master tapes from the Downey studio and label. It was part of the experience of visiting Wenzels. The masters remained there in the dark, apart from some selected re-issues, protected from the California sun, until the store closed in 2002, and now, after all these years, we have the opportunity of presenting some of these wonderful recordings in this series, including many unreleased gems. And on this particular selection, fine examples of some rarely heard rhythm and blues from the best Los Angeles had to offer.

By Brian Nevill


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Midnight Bells Are Ringing - T-Bone Walker Jr

  • 02 Preview She Wobbles When She Walks - Paul Clifton

  • 03 Preview Somewhere - Art Wheeler

  • 04 Preview Leave My Woman Alone - Ace Holder

  • 05 Preview I Got News For You - Little Johnny Taylor

  • 06 Preview Sorry 'Bout That - Chuck Higgins

  • 07 Preview Down The Street - Jessie Hill

  • 08 Preview Happy Anniversary - Ace Holder

  • 09 Preview Too Young - Boyce Cunningham

  • 10 Preview Empty Feeling - T-Bone Walker Jr

  • 11 Preview I Hope That It's Me - Little Caesar & the Ark Angels

  • 12 Preview When You Are Around - Ace Holder

  • 13 Preview Stop Fooling Around - Little Johnny Taylor

  • 14 Preview Fare Thee Well - The Debonaires

  • 15 Preview TV Guide - Jessie Hill

  • 16 Preview Sumptin' Else - T-Bone Walker Jr

  • 17 Preview This Love Of Mine - Ace Holder

  • 18 Preview Baby We're Through - Art Wheeler

  • 19 Preview Never Thought - Jessie Hill

  • 20 Preview Doris Tee - Ace Holder

  • 21 Preview I've Been Thinking Of You - Ace Holder

  • 22 Preview Jay Walkin' - Paul Clifton

  • 23 Preview Love Bells Ringing - T-Bone Walker Jr

  • 24 Preview My Life Is Empty - T-Bone Walker Jr

  • 25 Preview Laura - The Debonaires

  • 26 Preview Night Scene - Chuck Higgins

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought