Rare and Unreleased Recordings 1958-1962 Various Artists (Ric & Ron)


Rhythm & Blues
Catalogue Id:

In the early 1960s New Orleans was rightfully considered to be a centre of excellence for R&B and its fast-rising offshoot that became known as soul. The few studios in the city were kept busy day and night by the owners of a clutch of independent labels, eager to put their new artists on wax and in the public eye. Local DJs and record distributors owned the most important of the labels in question: Joe Banashak and Larry McKinley had Minit, Joe Assunto had Watch, while Assunto’s brother-in-law Joe Ruffino ran two labels, named after his two boys, out of a small office on Baronne Street.

Starting in 1959, Ruffino’s Ric and Ron labels released around 70 singles over a span of roughly five years. Only one became an important national hit – Joe Jones’ ‘You Talk Too Much’ – but a roster that featured Tommy Ridgeley, Eddie Bo, Irma Thomas, Professor Longhair, Chris Kenner, Johnny Adams, Robert Parker and Jones sold enough records locally to keep Ruffino on top of his game until he died, unexpectedly, in 1962. Many of those artists made either their first or most significant records for Ric or Ron, and you’ll still hear two of Ruffino’s biggest selling releases – Professor Longhair’s ‘Go To the Mardi Gras’ and Al Johnson’s ‘Carnival Time’ – all over the Crescent City when February rolls around and New Orleans dives headlong into its Mardi Gras celebrations.

Ruffino may not have recorded as often as some of his peers in the independent R&B label business, but he always recorded wisely and always came up with high quality end product. He used the best musicians the city had to offer and, shortly before he died, he entrusted his A&R to the young Mac Rebennack, who became Dr John The Night Tripper. Ruffino’s singers had an edge on many of their peers in that they actually could sing, and for these reasons Ric and Ron 45s sound just as great today.

Apart from ‘Carnival Time’ and Eddie Bo’s ‘Every Dog Has Its Day’ you won’t find any of Ruffino’s greatest hits in this special, limited edition box set. Here is, for the most part, a fascinating collection of ‘ones that got away’ – audition versions of Ruffino’s R&B classics, great finished masters that somehow evaded issue at the time, including the debut recordings of18 year old future soul legend Barbara Lynn. 18 of the 20 featured tracks have never been issued in this form. That’s the kind of statistic that will have lovers of vintage New Orleans R&B and soul salivating in their jambalaya from now to the next Fat Tuesday.

The discovery of these tracks will surely be a cause of celebration among those who still worship at the shrine of vinyl. The ten 45s in the Ric & Ron box are every bit as legitimate as those that were issued between 1959 and 1964, and they more than hold their own with Ric and Ron releases from back in the day. 

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Carnival Time - Al Johnson

  • 02 Carnival Time (demo) - Al Johnson

Side 2

  • 01 Lena - Al Johnson

  • 02 Let Come What May (demo) - Al Johnson

Side 3

  • 01 Nothing With Out You - Eddie Bo

  • 02 Satisfied With Your Love - Eddie Bo

Side 4

  • 01 Every Dog Has Its Day - Eddie Bo

  • 02 Every Dog Has Its Day (demo) - Eddie Boe

Side 5

  • 01 Ain’t You Ashamed - Eddie Bo

  • 02 I’ll Do Anything for You - Eddie Bo

Side 6

  • 01 Johnny I Won’t Cry (audition) - Johnny Adams

  • 02 Who Are You (audition) - Johnny Adams

  • 03 My Baby Done Closed the Door (demo) - Johnny Adams

Side 7

  • 01 No Way Out for Me - Johnny Adams

  • 02 Walking the Floor Over You - Johnny Adams

Side 8

  • 01 Blues Cha Cha - Edgar Blanchard & The Gondoliers

  • 02 Bopsody in Blue - Edgar Blanchard & The Gondoliers

Side 9

  • 01 Hurry Up (alternate take) - Paul Marvin

  • 02 Goofer - Paul Marvin

Side 10

  • 01 Found My Good Thing - Barbara Lynn

  • 02 Question of Love - Barbara Lynn

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought