Night Walker: The Jack Nitzsche Story Volume 3 Various Artists (Producer Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1430

When Mick Patrick and I had the idea, 10 years ago, of saluting the career of Jack Nitzsche by putting together “Hearing Is Believing: The Jack Nitzsche Story”, a CD to showcase every facet of this great all-rounder’s talent, we didn’t dream it would start a Producer Series which would grow to comprises 20 compilations, and counting. It’s only fitting Nitzsche should have been the one to get the ball rolling, given he was without peer in everything he applied his talents to.

So prolific was Nitzsche that further volumes were a formality. It’s been eight years since “Hard Workin’ Man: The Jack Nitzsche Story Volume 2” was released. We’re happy to say several selections that were not licensable for previous volumes now are – notably tracks by the Ronettes, the Crystals, the Alley Cats and Darlene Love from Phil Spector’s Philles label, the Buffalo Springfield masterpiece ‘Expecting To Fly’ and Merry Clayton’s ‘Poor White Hound Dog’ from Nitzsche’s Performance soundtrack.

Our collection starts with C.C. Adcock’s blistering version of ‘Castin’ My Spell’ from Nitzsche’s final session as producer and ends with Preston Epps’ ‘Bongo Bongo Bongo’, the first record to display his name under the title. In between there are examples of his work as a vocal and instrumental artist, as a writer for films and as the ultimate arranger of the three-minute pop song. There are collectable sides from his early days (Billy Storm, Vince Howard, Ramona King), rarities from big names (the Everly Brothers, Righteous Brothers, Lou Christie), long-admired fan favourites (Hale & the Hushabyes, MFQ, Satisfactions) and prime examples of his latter-day productions (Mink Deville, Michelle Phillips).

14 years after Nitzsche’s death his reputation continues to grow. If you want to know why, “Night Walker: The Jack Nitzsche Story Volume 3” provides the perfect answer.

By Tony Rounce 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Castin' My Spell - C.C. Adcock

  • 02 Preview Poor White Hound Dog - Jack Nitzsche, vocal by Merry Clayton

  • 03 Preview A Long Way To Be Happy - Darlene Love

  • 04 Preview Night Time Girl - Modern Folk Quintet

  • 05 Preview Expecting To Fly - The Buffalo Springfield

  • 06 Preview If My Car Could Only Talk - Lou Christie

  • 07 Preview Night Walker - Jack Nitzsche

  • 08 Preview Every Window In The City - Jerry Cole

  • 09 Preview Little Boy - The Crystals

  • 10 Preview Just Your Friends - Mink DeVille

  • 11 Preview Louie, Louie - Honey Ltd

  • 12 Preview Lower California - Jack Nitzsche

  • 13 Preview Is This What I Get For Loving You? - The Ronettes featuring Veronica

  • 14 Preview Come Softly To Me - The Fleetwoods

  • 15 Preview June Is As Cold As December - The Everly Brothers

  • 16 Preview Daddy You Just Gotta Let Him In - The Satisfactions

  • 17 Preview Try To Forget Him - Jackie DeShannon

  • 18 Preview Educated Fool - Billy Storm

  • 19 Preview What About You - Ramona King

  • 20 Preview Puddin N' Tain (Ask Me Again, I'll Tell You The Same) - The Alley Cats

  • 21 Preview Victim Of Romance - Michelle Phillips

  • 22 Preview Yes Sir, That's My Baby - Hale & The Hushabyes

  • 23 Preview The Wayward Wind - Vince Howard & The Vin-ettes

  • 24 Preview I Still Love You - The Righteous Brothers

  • 25 Preview Here I Stand - The Rip Chords

  • 26 Preview Bongo Bongo Bongo - Preston Epps

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


This compilation excites and delivers magnificently ★★★★★

Record Collector


The Independant

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought