More Long-Lost Honkers & Twangers Various Artists (Honkers & Twangers)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Rarities from the Golden Age of Instrumental Rock’n’Roll by the Ventures, Nokie Edwards’ Marksmen, Velvetones, Chancellors, Mus-Twangs and many more, including a whopping 14 previously unissued tracks. Limited edition of 1500.

Yes, it’s another bonanza for instrumental devotees with 14 never-before-released tracks and 10 elusive high-quality rarities! Fans of the Ventures should be especially excited because there are four previously unheard tracks: ‘Louisiana’, an original planned to be on their “Play The Country Classics”; ‘Blue Money’, which was considered for their “New Testament” album; an alternative version of ‘Blue Tail Fly’; and the finished take of ‘Downtown’. If that’s not enough, how about three never-issued titles from Nokie Edwards’ early 60s group the Marksmen? You can hear Nokie’s original blueprint for ‘Sunny River’, plus his take on the Shadows’ ‘Peace Pipe’ and his charming original ‘Nokie’s Fenokey’.

If you remember the Mus-Twangs’ brace of brilliant sax and guitar rompers from 1961 and would like some more, you are in luck, as we have the previously unreleased and completely thrilling group composition ‘Wolf Pack’, plus the moody ‘Zanzibar’ from the pen of Poco’s Paul Cotton. There’s also Mike Gordon (of the Marketts and Routers) with ‘Swing The Mess Around’, which rocks energetically from beginning to end.

We have put in a special effort for surf fans with unreleased titles from the Velvetones with a knockout blast through the old standard “Jericho”, the Ramrods’ dark and heavy ‘Zombie Surfer’, and Ed Burkey’s thrilling ‘Whitewater Wipe Out’. There is also the very rare ‘Mach 1’ taken at the speed of light by the Chancellors, which comes with a never-before-published potted history of the band in the booklet. Likewise, you can browse the story of the Road Runners for the first time anywhere while thrilling to their classic ‘Road Runnah’. There’s an unusual surf treatment of ‘Harlem Nocturne’ by the Music City Swingers and French-Canadian band Les Jaguars tear through ‘Guitare Jet’ with Arthur Cossette’s dynamic guitar work shredding many of his better-known rivals.

Many other twanging delights await – such as the Johnny & the Hurricanes-inspired ‘Mirage’ from the Night Caps, a Duane Eddy-like romp through ‘Red Wing’ by the Carnations, the sweet confection of the Lemon Drops’ Canadian Capers”, the gritty groove of Cecil Moore & the Notes’ ‘Diamond Back’, and two madcap jaunts through the crazy world of the Zanies with ‘Russian Roulette’ and ‘Claire De Looney’.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Guitare Jet - Les Jaguars

  • 02 Preview Wolf Pack - The Mus-Twangs

  • 03 Preview Road Runnah - The Road Runners

  • 04 Preview Diamond Back - Cecil Moore & The Notes

  • 05 Preview Mirage - The Night Caps

  • 06 Preview Blue Tail Fly (Alternate version) - The Ventures

  • 07 Preview Sunny River - The Marksmen

  • 08 Preview Louisiana - The Ventures

  • 09 Preview Zombie Surfer - The Ramrods

  • 10 Preview Red Wing - The Carnations

  • 11 Preview Peace Pipe - The Marksmen

  • 12 Preview Moon Walking - Billy Strange

  • 13 Preview Canadian Capers - The Lemon Drops

  • 14 Preview Nokie's Fenokey - The Marksmen

  • 15 Preview Mach 1 - The Chancellors

  • 16 Preview Claire De Looney - The Zanies

  • 17 Preview Harlem Nocturne - Music City Swingers

  • 18 Preview Blue Money - The Ventures

  • 19 Preview Zanzibar - The Mus-Twangs

  • 20 Preview Jericho - The Velvetones

  • 21 Preview Downtown (Alternate version) - The Ventures

  • 22 Preview Whitewater Wipe Out - Ed Burkey

  • 23 Preview Swing The Mess Around - Mike Gordon & The Agates

  • 24 Preview Russian Roulette - The Zanies

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought