Modernists Various Artists (Modernists)


Catalogue Id:
KENT 505

This product is also available in these versions:
Modernists (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

After two successful CD volumes, Kent’s look at the sort of R&B and club soul that could have been danced to by the original mods – if only they’d had the chance – arrives with a special vinyl edition.

For a group of hip kids who like to be ahead of the crowd, it is interesting to note that the preferred listening medium of today’s mods is still vinyl. Our “Modernists” and “Modernism” CDs were widely acclaimed by those who had heard too many Hot 100 sounds and were ready to dig some rarer grooves. Especially for them, here’s a new vinyl edition, featuring newfound staples from Bessie Banks, Bob & Earl and Mel Williams, the latter of whom likens the aspiring youth of 1966 to a T-Bird. Little Johnny Hamilton’s hip ‘Go’ instrumental was previously only available to kids with a few hundred to spill on its northern soul flip, and Troy Dodds’ sublime ‘The Real Thing’ had been hiding under the expensive ‘Try My Love’, while Clarence Daniels & Obie Jessie’s Oscar Brown Jr-influenced ‘Hard Working Girl’ has only just come to light as an incredibly rare vinyl artefact. Similarly, although Philly’s Swan imprint was known to the record collecting cognoscenti of the UK’s 60s scene, Leroy Harris’ mean and moody ‘I’m Gonna Get You’ somehow escaped their attention.

Mod was always an international movement. While British soul fans went off in search of faster beats, their French and Belgian counterparts continued with the cool on the popcorn scene. This is epitomised by Hank Jacobs’ ‘East Side’, a fabulous piano-led instrumental from one of LA’s finest. It was big inLos Angeleson release, inAntwerpin the later 60s, and has since returned home to the low rider scene of recent years.

Unissued in any format until recent years, ultra-hip jazzer Floyd White’s ‘Another Child Lost’, Teddy Reynolds’ mid-60s soul groove ‘Ain’t That Soul’ and R&B vocal group the Corvairs’ ‘A Feeling Deep Inside’ are perfect for mods of any vintage. Enterprising mod DJ Lee Miller picked up on an unissued at the time 1963 recording called ‘Sundown’ by the Merced Blue notes from an Ace CD. He had an acetate made up to play out at gigs, renaming the song and artist to heighten the mystery. Having created a demand, only then did he come clean. These and Chuck Higgins’ take on ‘All Around The World’ are enjoying their first vinyl outings here.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Sundown - The Merced Blue Notes

  • 02 Preview The Real Thing - Troy Dodds

  • 03 Preview All Around The World - Chuck Higgins

  • 04 Preview I'm Gonna Get You - Leroy Harris

  • 05 Preview (You Should Have Been A) Doctor - Bessie Banks

  • 06 Preview Dancing Everywhere - Bob & Earl

  • 07 Preview Soul Is My Game - Chet "Poison" Ivey & His Fabulous Avengers

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Go - Little Johnny Hamilton & The Creators

  • 02 Preview Ain't That Soul - Teddy Reynolds

  • 03 Preview A Feeling Deep Inside - The Corvairs

  • 04 Preview Another Child Lost - Floyd White

  • 05 Preview Hard Working Girl - The Clarence Daniels Orchestra, vocal Obie Jessie

  • 06 Preview Jet Set - Mel Williams

  • 07 Preview East Side - Hank Jacobs

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


This is mod in immaculate and purist form ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought