Modern Vocal Groups Vol 5 Various Artists (Kent/ Modern)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Modern Vocal Groups Vol 5 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

Although the recording dates for the tracks on this compilation span the years 1951-1961, the musical centre of gravity of Modern Vocal Groups Vol 5 is rooted firmly in what many vocal group fans regard as the golden age of doo wop, the 1955-57 period. As well as Modern label favourites such as Jesse Belvin and the Cadets and Jacks groups, some of the artists on this latest volume of this comprehensive survey are not those that you would expect to find on a vocal group collection. B.B. King, for example, is usually associated with a tight band and his beloved Lucille, but he did occasionally provide lead vocals in front of a group. I Was Blind is one of those songs with an un-named group (probably the Flairs) providing vocal accompaniment to B.B. In a similar vein, Joe Houston is readily associated with his crazy tenor sax but did actually record in a number of styles as his recent Ace release (Joe Houston Blows Crazy - Ace CDCHD 772) attests. Two of his waxings with vocal backing, Shtiggy Boom and Come Back Baby are featured on this volume.

One of the most prolific 50s Califonia recording artists was Tony Allen. Both under his lead name or just anonymously as part of a group, Tony seems to have recorded for most of the West Coast independent labels. Tony did his fair share for the Biharis' Modern label group too, and is featured here with some of his early 60s sides for the Kent label, in front of a group known as the Wonders. Look out for more of Tony Allen (and indeed B.B. King) group sides on the next Volume in this series. Donna Hightower and Dolly Cooper provide the interest on the female side. Donna, a talented R&B singer, had started as a big band vocalist and had recorded for others before waxing at least nine sides for Modern. Rumour had it that Lavern Baker was her sister, although this seems unlikely. The bluesier Dolly Cooper has a group behind her on the New Orleans semi-standard Ay La Bah.

Continuing to feature the rarer sides that collectors might otherwise never get to hear, Vol 5 includes both sides of four hard-to-get Modern singles. The Hawks only single (Modern 990) is included here in the released version with instrumentation. The Rockets (992), are not the Jacks under another name, as previously thought, and they became the Rocketeers (999) after one personnel change. The Sounds (981) featured Bobby Byrd, another prolific California artist, who went on, as Bobby Day, to Rockin' Robin fame. As usual, the compilation and annotation is by Gordon Skadberg and the guys at Earlybird Records, complete with mouth-watering illustrations.

By Peter Gibbon


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview My Satellite - Jesse Belvin

  • 02 Preview Ever Since You've Been Gone - The Hawks

  • 03 Preview You Are The First One - The Rockets

  • 04 Preview Heaven Help Me - The Cadets

  • 05 Preview Love Me Again - Donna Hightower & Group

  • 06 Preview Hey Rube - The Rocketeers

  • 07 Preview Sweet Sixteen - The Sounds

  • 08 Preview Be My Love, Be My Love - Tony Allen & the Wonders

  • 09 Preview Ay La Bah - Dolly Cooper

  • 10 Preview My Desire - The Cliques

  • 11 Preview I Was Blind - B.B. King

  • 12 Preview Talk It Over, Baby - The Rocketeers

  • 13 Preview Shtiggy Boom - Joe Houston

  • 14 Preview Anything For You - The Sounds

  • 15 Preview Wiggie Waggie Woo - The Cadets

  • 16 Preview Everybody's Somebody's Fool - Tony Allen & the Wanderers

  • 17 Preview I'm In Love With A Girl - The Cliques

  • 18 Preview Why Did I Fall In Love - The Jacks

  • 19 Preview He's My Baby - Donna Hightower & Group

  • 20 Preview Come Back Baby - Joe Houston & Group

  • 21 Preview Be Lovey Dovey - The Rockets

  • 22 Preview Just To Say Hello - Jesse Belvin

  • 23 Preview I Dream Of You Night After Night - The Senders

  • 24 Preview It's All Over - The Hawks

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Superb you can buy with confidence.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought