Masterpieces Of Modern Soul Vol 5 Various Artists (Masterpieces of Modern Soul)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

70s soul from the vaults, rare dancefloor fillers and collectors’ top tips.

Chock-full of exclusive gems, this new volume in the “Masterpieces” series erupts from the speakers with the Mighty Whites’ unreleased master ‘Given My Life’, a song that would eventually see life as an inferior disco-driven recording by them under the Brotherhood moniker in 1978. It has already been played from acetate across Europe and is widely admired.

Another newly discovered soul sound is Detroit group C.J. & Co’s updated version of ‘Rainmaker’, a song popularised by the Moods’ Wand recording which featured on Kent LPs in the 80s. Detroit also provides a fabulous groove on the Moderations’ ‘Ride The Disco Train’ (a never-heard-before secular reading of the Tolbert Family’s in-demand gospel 45) and Dave Hamilton’s 80s productions of ‘Franchise On Love’ by the little-known Felecia Johnson and New Experience’s unissued ‘I Believe’.

Jazzman Leon Thomas reminds us that the early northern soul clubs weren’t all baggies and spins with his ever-popular shuffler ‘L-O-V-E’, whereas Major Lance’s ‘That’s The Story Of My Life’ is a 70s release that features the classic 60s soul-dance sound. Millie Jackson’s late 60s-style LP-only ‘I’ll Continue To Love You’ also belies its 1976 release date.

Social commentary features on Lee Porter’s in-demand Memphis waxing ‘Nobody’s Doin’ A Doggone Thing’, while our CD marks the digital debut for Street People’s ‘Your Momma Had A Baby’, taken from their excellent first Spring session which yielded two terrific 45 sides. Eddie Floyd’s originally unissued Stax outing ‘Can We Talk It Over’ was featured on a long-since deleted CD and deserves a re-listen now, as is the case with Eon’s LP track ‘We’ll Go On’.

Will Hatcher’s Wand outing ‘What Is Best For Me Is Better For You’ is a surprise sleeper, and there’s Ray Godfrey’s brand new version of ‘I Ain’t Givin’ Up’, the song he wrote for Joe Simon and Millie Jackson. Throw in a stunning Independents LP-only track, Ollie McLaughlin’s re-recording of ‘Hello Stranger’ on Detroit soulster Reggie Milner, an unissued dancer from the wild-haired Headliners and a laidback ender from the great Freddie Scott and you have a terrific mix of sounds from the early 70s right through to the 80s: as a collection these songs are irresistible.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Given My Life - Mighty Whites

  • 02 Preview L-O-V-E - Leon Thomas

  • 03 Preview Rainmaker - C.J. & Co.

  • 04 Preview How Can I Go On Without You - John Edwards

  • 05 Preview Your Momma Had A Baby - Street People

  • 06 Preview Lucky Fellow - The Independents

  • 07 Preview Can We Talk It Over (edit) - Eddie Floyd

  • 08 Preview What Is Best For Me Is Better For You - Will Hatcher

  • 09 Preview That's The Story Of My Life - Major Lance

  • 10 Preview I'll Continue To Love You (edit) - Millie Jackson

  • 11 Preview Mrs So And So's Daughter (Edit) - Loleatta Holloway

  • 12 Preview Franchise On Love - Felecia Johnson & T.S.B. Inc.

  • 13 Preview Keep On Doin' Whatcha' Doin' Part 1 - Ty Karim & George Griffin

  • 14 Preview Ride The Disco Train - The Moderations

  • 15 Preview A Star In The Ghetto - Foxfire feat Johnny Adams

  • 16 Preview Nobody's Doin' A Doggone Thing - Lee Porter & Peaceful Persuasion

  • 17 Preview Dose Of Soul - Chet Ivey & His Fabulous Avengers

  • 18 Preview I Ain't Givin' Up (Edit) - Ray Godfrey

  • 19 Preview We'll Go On (edit) - Eon

  • 20 Preview I'll Live My Life Loving You - The Headliners

  • 21 Preview Gotta Be Loved Pt 2 - Herman Davis

  • 22 Preview Hello Stranger - Reggie Milner

  • 23 Preview I Believe - The New Experience feat Elayne Starr

  • 24 Preview I Guess God Wants It This Way - Freddie Scott

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought