Mainstream Modern Soul 1969-1976 Various Artists (Mainstream Records)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

The New York label concentrated on soul in the 70s: Philly-style dancers, beautiful ballads and smouldering southern productions.

Mainstream and its subsidiaries IX Chains and Brown Dog were classy New York labels owned by veteran producer Bob Shad. Formed in 1964 as a jazz imprint, Mainstream diverged into rock and soul, then re-launched in 1970 and reverted to jazz, but assimilated soul and funk until its demise in 1976. Soul offshoots IX Chains and Brown Dog followed in 1973 and 1974.

Tracks by Ellerine Harding, Nia Johnson and Sarah Vaughan have jazz elements, while the Steptones and the Dramatics are where soul moves close to disco but without ruining a good song. Lenny Welch’s ‘A Hundred Pounds Of Pain’, the Fantastic Puzzles’ ‘Come Back’ and Linda Perry’s ‘It’s All In The Back Of Me Now’ were big on the progressive northern soul scene of the 70s, although most of the in-demand items have found favour in later decades. Almeta Lattimore’s gorgeous ‘These Memories’ and Calvin Arnold’s chugging southern burner ‘Satisfy My Woman’ could have been made for the crossover scene. Big ticket items ‘We’re Not Too Young To Fall In Love’ by the Jackey Beavers Show and Randolph Brown’s ‘It Ain’t Like It Used To Be’ have more of a beat yet retain their soul quotient, while contributions from Words Of Wisdom, Charles Beverly and Lee Bates are below the radar but tremendous soul songs.

‘Don’t You Care’ was an Alice Clark LP track that took off in the 90s. Soul ballads from McArthur, Sarah Vaughan and a killer version of ‘When Something Is Wrong With My Baby’ by Jackey Beavers vary the pace, while J.G. Lewis and Bobby Earl Williams provide tracks that are too-long neglected. Two previously unheard Linda Perry soul dancers could well seal the deal for the discerning fan and the J.G. Lewis tape discovery ‘I’m The One Who Loves You’ is a hell of a soulful bonus.

This is the first time this acclaimed catalogue has been looked at in depth and the history of its creation makes fascinating reading. All from master tape.

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Can't Give You Up - Linda Perry

  • 02 Preview Come Back Pt 1 - The Fantastic Puzzles

  • 03 Preview It Ain't Like It Used To Be - Randolph Brown

  • 04 Preview No Rebate On Love - The Dramatics

  • 05 Preview You're A Friend Of Mine - The Words Of Wisdom

  • 06 Preview Satisfy My Woman - Calvin Arnold

  • 07 Preview I'm The One Who Loves You - J.G. Lewis

  • 08 Preview These Memories - Almeta Lattimore

  • 09 Preview Stop And Think A Minute - Charles Beverly

  • 10 Preview It's So Real - McArthur

  • 11 Preview When Something Is Wrong With My Baby - The Jackey Beavers Show

  • 12 Preview (What Am I Gonna Do) What Am I Gonna Say - Lee Bates

  • 13 Preview Don't You Care - Alice Clark

  • 14 Preview That's The Way She Is - Bobby Earl Williams

  • 15 Preview Let The People Talk - The Steptones

  • 16 Preview It's All In The Back Of Me Now - Linda Perry

  • 17 Preview A Hundred Pounds Of Pain - Lenny Welch

  • 18 Preview Plain Out Of Luck - Nia Johnson

  • 19 Preview To Whom It May Concern (All I Need) - Ellerine Harding

  • 20 Preview We're Not Too Young To Fall In Love - The Jackey Beavers Show

  • 21 Preview What Am I Going To Do - J.G. Lewis

  • 22 Preview Ain't Nobody Gonna Make Me (Turn My Back On My Baby) - Linda Perry

  • 23 Preview I'm On Sick Leave - Randolph Brown

  • 24 Preview I Need You More (Than Ever Now) - Sarah Vaughan

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




All great ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought