Loma Northern Soul Various Artists (Loma)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Loma Northern Soul - Classic & Revelations 1964-1968, 7" (£46.48)

If you want to know about the quality of a label’s output, look at the backroom staff as well as the artists. This CD features work from the following

Arrangers and producers –

NYC – Garry Sherman, Richard Tee, Van McCoy, Robert Banks, George Kerr, Jerry Ragovoy, Don Costa, Sammy Lowe & Jesse Herring.

L A - Gene Page, James Carmichael, Jerry Long, Len Jewell Smith, Marc Gordon, Hooven & Winn and Billy Revis.

Songwriters –

Willie Hutchison, Lorraine Ellison & Sam Bell, Mort Shuman & Jerry Ragovoy, Randy Newman, Van McCoy and Sammy Turner.

The compilation is a mix of the loved and cherished sides as played on the Northern Soul scene from the early 70s onwards, to brand new master tape finds that will give this ageing cultural movement a timely shot in the arm for the ‘20s and beyond.

The Marvellos open with ‘It’s Your Love That I Need’ a 1966 Willie Hutch song that has only just been unearthed and is setting dancefloors alight with its mid-60s soul perfection. Their classic ‘Something’s Burning’ is here along with a recent gem ‘I Need You’ that is digitally presented for the first time too.

The equally accomplished and respected Invincibles have a solid three dance tracks – none of which were issued at the time. ‘Heartstrings’ is the catchy dancer destined to go big, while ‘Please Be True’ is for connoisseurs of the Impressions’ vocalising style. ‘Got A Thing Goin’’ however is a manic stomper for super-fit dancers and acrobats only – reminiscent of Little Joe Cook’s ‘I’m Falling In Love With You Baby’.

Philly’s Ben Aiken made his Northern name with the irrepressible ‘Satisfied’ when we were teenagers. Two unreleased nuggets ‘That’s All I Gotta Do’ and ‘If You Should See Her’ will keep him known and revered through our later years.                     

Carl Hall’s evergreen ‘Mean It Baby’ is augmented by his ‘Like I Told You’ – a real grower.

The girls join in with the legendary Linda Jones’ ‘My Heart Needs A Break’ opus, Delilah Kennebreuw’s Spectoresque collector’s favourite ‘Bright Lights’ and the girly stomper that is ‘See The Silvery Moon’ by the Apollas - poptastic.

Early-scene mod sounds are provided by the mysterious Clyde & The Blue Jays who tell us how to do ‘The Big Jerk’, the Olympics revert to the R&B of their earlier career with ‘I Finally Got A Break’ before their Mirwood soul makeover. Billy Storm tears it up with ‘Baby Don’t Look Down’ an early song from the man who would give us the soundtrack to Toy Story 3 – Randy Newman. The Enchanters ‘Just A Little Longer’ is a mid-60s Drifters’ soundalike, fresh from the tape reel.

The Soul Shakers ‘I’m Getting Weaker’, Kell Osborne ‘You Can’t Outsmart A Woman’ and Larry Lester ‘Go For Yourself’ are accepted as the building blocks of the Northern Soul scene and still sound wonderful. Sleepers include Bobby Freeman’s magnificent ‘Lies’, Tony Amarro & The Chariots ‘Runnin’ Around’ and the dynamic production of Charles Thomas ‘The Man With The Golden Touch’.

With such high-quality sides to choose from, we have treated ourselves to two “enders” – Bobby Reed’s beautiful ‘I’ll Find A Way’ one of Van McCoys’ very best and Tommy Starr’s melancholic ‘Better Think Of What You’re Losing’.

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview It's Your Love That I Need - The Marvellos

  • 02 Preview Go For Yourself - Larry Laster

  • 03 Preview Heartstrings - The Invincibles

  • 04 Preview You Can't Outsmart A Woman - Kell Osborne

  • 05 Preview Lies - Bobby Freeman

  • 06 Preview That's All You Gotta Do - Ben Aiken

  • 07 Preview I Need You - The Marvellos

  • 08 Preview Mean It Baby - Carl Hall

  • 09 Preview I'm Getting Weaker - The Soul Shakers

  • 10 Preview Just A Little Longer - The Enchanters

  • 11 Preview Please Be True - The Invincibles

  • 12 Preview If You Should See Her - Ben Aiken

  • 13 Preview My Heart Needs A Break - Linda Jones

  • 14 Preview See The Silver Moon - The Apollas

  • 15 Preview Bright Lights - Delilah Kennebruew

  • 16 Preview Something's Burnin' - The Marvellos

  • 17 Preview Satisfied - Ben Aiken

  • 18 Preview Runnin Around - Tony Amaro & The Chariots

  • 19 Preview Got A Thing Goin' - The Invincibles

  • 20 Preview The Man With The Golden Touch - Charles Thomas

  • 21 Preview Baby Don't Look Down - Billy Storm

  • 22 Preview I Finally Got A Break - The Olympics

  • 23 Preview The Big Jerk, Part 1 - Clyde & The Blue Jays

  • 24 Preview I'll Find A Way - Bobby Reed

  • 25 Preview Better Think Of What You're Losing - Tommy Starr

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought